LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014   #1

DIYMA freshman

12V Company:
Freedom Chevrolet
Position:
automotive technician

Rep Power: 0 lowrider2962 will become famous soon enoughlowrider2962 will become famous soon enoughlowrider2962 will become famous soon enoughlowrider2962 will become famous soon enoughlowrider2962 will become famous soon enoughlowrider2962 will become famous soon enough

Default rockford fosgate 301m amp overheats

i have a RF 900w punch 301m amp that started overheating regularly last summer. its been a good amp for me over the years and ive repaired it once or twice before. it seems like one or more of the output MOSFETs are faulty. i know i would have no trouble replacing them but as a mechanic i know all to well that fixing the failed part doesnt necessarily fix what caused it. pervious repairs to this amp have been mostly due to wear and tear (its been in 4 different vehicles). the one thing that failed electroniclly was a diode located near the inputs. it burnt in half and damaged nothing else. that was years ago, i replaced it with another comparable diode and it worked like a champ since then. the FETs are IRF9540's and IRF540's, 3 of each. should i just replace them and see where it gets me?

any help and advice is appreciated. thanks for reading.
lowrider2962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014   #2
DIYMA 500 Club

DIYMA Enthusiast

12V Company:
Radio Randy
Position:
owner

Rep Power: 94 ATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura aboutATOMICTECH62 has a spectacular aura about

Default Re: rockford fosgate 301m amp overheats