DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

Tweeter 'Hiss' after Mod

7K views 28 replies 8 participants last post by  storm 
#1 ·
Would like to seek expertise advice on my current issue. I had my 6-channel amp's opamp and power supply upgraded to better quality parts / grades. The SQ turned out fantastic after some burn-in. Resolution was greatly improved with excellent transparency.

However I can hear this disturbing 'hiss' sound from the tweeters. The hiss sound was never present before the upgrade. Amplitude of the hiss varies with different recordings. Sounded similar to those hiss you often hear on vinyl playback. Threw the Zero Bit track for checks but could not hear the hiss sound in the track.

I'm no technical expert. However, will be great if anyone with previous experience or knowledge can advise what are the likely problems. Possible that the problem was introduced during the upgrade process? If yes, specifically which area? I'd like to think mean time that the amp's resolution is revealing the recording quality during playback :rolleyes:

#3 ·
So you have background hiss that changes in amplitude dependent on which tracks you play, BUT if you play a Zero Bit track you have no hiss. Think about that for a minute, if you have no hiss playing the 0 bit track then it is plainly obvious that you have no audible system noise and that what you are hearing is background hiss on your music CD's most have background noise of some sort which will vary depending on the quality of the recording.

So why are you hearing it now? Well probably because you weren't really listening for it before, it's like when somethign breaks on your car and after you fix it you hear lots of noises that weren't there before, they were you just weren't listening. Or possibly the background noise on CD's was being covered or lost in your systems normal noise and now that you've made improvements you've dropped the noise floor enough to reveal the background hiss on your music CD's.