2002 VW Golf stealth SQ build (an engineering student's perspective) - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012   #1
DIYMA 500 Club
Upgrade Your Membership!

Acoustical Mad Scientist

Rep Power: 78 Jazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura aboutJazzi has a spectacular aura about

Default 2002 VW Golf stealth SQ build (an engineering student's perspective)

I was first inspired by John Whitledge's sprinter van and his scientific approach. As an engineering student I knew the pursuit of sound quality in Car audio was a matter of breaking down the process into smaller, more simple concepts. My goal was to learn as much as possible, re-use my existing gear, and change my installation a little at a time to hear the differences. I bought some books, found some excellent resources online, and signed up to be a judge for MECA events here on the west coast (best thing ever!).

This is the 2nd Car I've built, the first was a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee and I built a transmission line subwoofer to experiment with low frequency extension (the in-car resonant frequency of that sub was 28 hertz and was an absolute joy, I miss it!). The same equipment is being used in both cars except for the subwoofer. Here is the list for the Golf:

Morel Hybrid Ovation 6.5" 2-way component speakers
Alpine PDX-5 5 channel amplifer
Eclipse CD7200 MkII head unit
Focal Polyglass 21 V2 8" subwoofer
sound treatments from Lowe's and sounddeadenershowdown