Budget Accord upgrade - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2016   #1

DIYMA freshman

Rep Power: 9 llebcire will become famous soon enoughllebcire will become famous soon enoughllebcire will become famous soon enoughllebcire will become famous soon enoughllebcire will become famous soon enoughllebcire will become famous soon enough

Default Budget Accord upgrade

Finished installing a 5 channel amp in my Accord today - not overly impressed at the moment.

Goal is to upgrade the factory system on a budget. Car is a 2008 Accord Coupe EXL and has a factory 5 channel amp and 8" IB subwoofer in the rear deck. Back in the early 90s I installed for a living so I have an idea of what to do, however I miss buying product at 30 - 50% of retail and my wife doesn't "see the value" in spending a lot of money when we have 2 children.

When I bought the car the audio was fairly week compared to my Lexus GX470 with Mark Levinson that I traded out of. This summer I deadened and sealed the rear deck and it made a world of difference with low hard hitting bass that shook the car and all the mirrors. With that the front doors had great kick and low bass but mediocre sound quality with harsh highs and weak sounding mid bass.

My plan was to add a sub with amp then mids and highs later. Once I started shopping I found that a decent 5 channel is less than a sub and 4 channel so I researched and went with a Zapco ST-X 5. Amp is rated at 4 x 80 plus 1 x 350 into 4 ohms with high level inputs (4 of 5 channels) and built in crossovers.

Another forum indicated the factory amp puts out full range with passive crossovers in the car and the head unit drives the amp with balanced differential outputs - unfortunately an amp that accepts these inputs was out of my price range.

My plan for now:

Keep factory head unit and speakers
Use high-level inputs on Zapco to maintain ability to fade and adjust subwoofer
Use 4 gauge power and ground