LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2008   #1
DIYMA 500 Club

DIYMA Regular

Rep Power: 113 BlackLac will become famous soon enoughBlackLac will become famous soon enoughBlackLac will become famous soon enoughBlackLac will become famous soon enoughBlackLac will become famous soon enoughBlackLac will become famous soon enough

Default Need help adding a 2nd battery for a boat installation

I have never done anything with adding 2nd batteries, so I am a complete newb in this area.

My friends dad want an updated system in his boat. It's a 96-97? Searay. It just has an old marine HU and 4 coaxials (5 1/2's?). One side is blown. He wants a new HU with iPod capabilities and new speakers. I meantioned a 2nd battery would be a good idea, cause I planned on using an amp or two. He thought that was a great idea. I would like to have the amp and HU on the 2nd battery, both batteries charged off the alternator, obviously. I've never installed an HU in a boat, is it much different than a car? Is it east to rewire the power wire to a different battery? I just got the budget today, it was alot less than what I was hoping. He said $5-800. With a new HU, 2 sets of replacement speakers, 4 channel amp I'm already at about $650. Is there room in this budget for a 2nd battery? What components do I need and how do I install them? I was initially planning on a sub and sub amp, but budget cut that out.

He really liked the idea of a 2nd battery just for the system, so I think he will make that work no matter what the budget is.

Any help would be appreciated.

My equipment I plan on using so far:

HU: Clarion DXZ785USB (for iPod use) ~$230 shipped
Component Amp: Alpine MRP F550 ~$200 shipped
(Found matching Eclipse amps on Ebay too, XA1000 and XA4000. There efficiency should be great for this setup. About $340 shipped for the pair! If budget alows a sub, otherwise just the 4 channel for $190 shipped)