DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

DIY vibration damper/CLD tiles: for real this time?

18K views 41 replies 9 participants last post by  Rudeboy 
#1 ·

Material:
28 gauge sheet metal (free for me)
3M super 77 adhesive ($10)
Nashua Butyl flashing tape ($20)
Sheet metal snips
Razor knife
Tape measure

I'm a sheet metal mechanic by trade so I can get all the scrap metal I need. So $30 will make me about 10 ft^2 of damper. I'm sure that the butyl flashing can be bought cheaper too.

See less See more
#2 ·
super77 would not be the glue of choice. it's heat resistance is under 100F, something easily achievable in a car in the summer. possibly the foamfast74 would work but super77 and super90 would not hold up.

#3 ·
1. Cut sheet metal into 6" strips to match the width of the flashing tape (I did 6"x3')

2. Cut 4 or 5 strips of Butyl tape to the same length as the sheet metal.

3. Apply 3M adhesive to the front side of one strip of tape and the sheet metal. Wait 30 sec to 1 minute.

4.Carefully lay the butyl on the sheet metal. Make sure to line the edges up neatly and don't make any crinkles or bubbles. I used a piece of wood to press down and smooth out each layer applied.

5. Pull of the protective plastic to reveal the sticky side of the butyl and carefully lay down the next layer (each layer must be sticky side up).

6. Repeat step 5 for as many layers as you choose (I did 4).

#9 ·
A. I had some of the materials laying around

B. Didn't feel like paying and waiting for shipping.

C. Curiosity. It's kind of an experiment.

Everything I've read about deadening states that the closer the metal layer is to the actual thickness of the door metal the better it will work. So I made some and to be honest, so far I'm very impressed with how little it takes to deaden the door. I just put roughly 1 square ft on the outside door skin and rapped it with a screw driver handle and it's as dead as roach on Raid.