"Light Duty" Router Table & Circle Jig. - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2014   #1

DIYMA Novice

Rep Power: 68 jnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enough

Default "Light Duty" Router Table & Circle Jig.

After cutting my 50th or so set of mdf rings I decided I needed something better than than a jigsaw setup. I don't do enough to justify $600 plus for a good router & table setup.

I put the following together in a couple of evenings and figured I'd share it in case anyone else can use it.

Disclaimer: I'm a rough carpenter, not not a finish carpenter or routering expert.

Here goes...

This is my laminate router (about $90), and a piece of scrap 3/4 HDPE (cutting board plastic, $5).

I marked out the shape of the base on the HDPE and cut this out, leaving about 1/4 inch for the router to be secured to.

Cut out the opening for the router bits to operate through, then drilled the holes to line up with the threaded holes on the base of the router.

Drilled countersink holes for the router base screws.

Cut a slot and installed metal track from a dremel circle jig (I believe you can buy this from home depot etc.)

Here is the router installed on the HDPE.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
jnchantler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2014   #2

DIYMA Novice

Rep Power: 68 jnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enoughjnchantler will become famous soon enough

Next was mounting this contraption to a solid surface.

It is going on the workbench, next to the reloading press.