Update on new JL Audio Processors - Page 28 - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #676
 
DIYMA Novice
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 477

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 146 vactor will become famous soon enoughvactor will become famous soon enoughvactor will become famous soon enoughvactor will become famous soon enoughvactor will become famous soon enoughvactor will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (18)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

after reading this whole thread, playing with the demo software, i think i will be getting a twk and a jl xd800 for a simple but very workable high end install. seems like a perfect solution for a 3 way front system with a single sub.
vactor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #677
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
DIYMA Novice
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minneapolis Mn
Posts: 265

Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 23 bilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Just to verify... I think I am seeing this in the software but wanted to make sure I wasnt missing something

I am going to be using a FIX 82 and a TWK 88 for my build... I know the TWK 88 had both a coax digital input and an optical digital input... can you use both of them, or are you limited to just using one or the other?

Also is there any difference in bit rate accepted etc between the optical and coax digital inputs? I know on some systems typically the coax input has better bit rate support.

bilbo6209 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #678
 
robhaynes's Avatar
 
DIYMA freshman
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 113

12V Company:
JL Audio
Position:
Product Training Specialist

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 25 robhaynes will become famous soon enoughrobhaynes will become famous soon enoughrobhaynes will become famous soon enoughrobhaynes will become famous soon enoughrobhaynes will become famous soon enoughrobhaynes will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbo6209 View Post
Just to verify... I think I am seeing this in the software but wanted to make sure I wasnt missing something

I am going to be using a FIX 82 and a TWK 88 for my build... I know the TWK 88 had both a coax digital input and an optical digital input... can you use both of them, or are you limited to just using one or the other?

Also is there any difference in bit rate accepted etc between the optical and coax digital inputs? I know on some systems typically the coax input has better bit rate support.
You can use both the Optical and Analog inputs on the TwK 88. However only one of the two (Analog or Optical) can be assigned to inputs 1/2.

If using a FiX 82 I would recommend inputs 1/2 being Optical and then in other presets you can use analog inputs 3-8 as needed and disable the Toslink input.

robhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #679
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
DIYMA Novice
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minneapolis Mn
Posts: 265

Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 23 bilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by robhaynes View Post
You can use both the Optical and Analog inputs on the TwK 88. However only one of the two (Analog or Optical) can be assigned to inputs 1/2.

If using a FiX 82 I would recommend inputs 1/2 being Optical and then in other presets you can use analog inputs 3-8 as needed and disable the Toslink input.
I am also hooking up a Raspberry pi via digital (HiFiBerry Digi+ card) so I was really hoping to be able to use digital coming from the FIX and digital coming form the Raspberry Pi.

bilbo6209 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #680
DIYMA 500 Club
 
DIYMA Regular
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 824

12V Company:
JL Audio
Position:
VP Marketing

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 131 msmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nice


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbo6209 View Post
Just to verify... I think I am seeing this in the software but wanted to make sure I wasnt missing something

I am going to be using a FIX 82 and a TWK 88 for my build... I know the TWK 88 had both a coax digital input and an optical digital input... can you use both of them, or are you limited to just using one or the other?
You can only use one for the whole project (all presets). In the Input Setup menu (click the little icon next to the word "INPUTS"), you will see a selector for Inputs 1/2: Analog, Optical or Coaxial.

You can run additional analog inputs on inputs 3-8, but you can't switch between the coaxial, optical or analog inputs on inputs 1/2. You have to pick only one.

Quote:
Also is there any difference in bit rate accepted etc between the optical and coax digital inputs? I know on some systems typically the coax input has better bit rate support.
No, in the TwK 88, both are capable of 24 bit/96 kHz max.

Best regards,

Manville Smith
JL Audio, Inc.
msmith is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #681
DIYMA 500 Club
 
DIYMA Regular
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 824

12V Company:
JL Audio
Position:
VP Marketing

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 131 msmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nice


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbo6209 View Post
I am also hooking up a Raspberry pi via digital (HiFiBerry Digi+ card) so I was really hoping to be able to use digital coming from the FIX and digital coming form the Raspberry Pi.
You would need an external digital input switcher to select between the sources... or a D/A on one of them so you can go into one of the analog inputs. Then you can mix them, and switch them on/off via TwK presets.
msmith is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #682
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
DIYMA Novice
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minneapolis Mn
Posts: 265

Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 23 bilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enoughbilbo6209 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by msmith View Post
You would need an external digital input switcher to select between the sources... or a D/A on one of them so you can go into one of the analog inputs. Then you can mix them, and switch them on/off via TwK presets.
Darn it, that's what I thought in the software but I was hoping there was a super secret method for enabling both

Ok I'll go analog from the fix to the tweak and digital from the R-pi to the twk being that I will be using it the most.

Is there any difference between the 2 digital inputs? I seem to remember some other DSPs accepting higher bit rates on one digital input over the other (I think it is normally higher on the coax vs optical)

bilbo6209 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 5 Days Ago   #683
DIYMA 500 Club
 
DIYMA Regular
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 824

12V Company:
JL Audio
Position:
VP Marketing

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 131 msmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nicemsmith is just really nice


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Update on new JL Audio Processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbo6209 View Post
Darn it, that's what I thought in the software but I was hoping there was a super secret method for enabling both

Ok I'll go analog from the fix to the tweak and digital from the R-pi to the twk being that I will be using it the most.

Is there any difference between the 2 digital inputs? I seem to remember some other DSPs accepting higher bit rates on one digital input over the other (I think it is normally higher on the coax vs optical)
Both digital inputs are the same. Up to 24/96
msmith is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy