My take on the Audio Illusion Carbon C6 component set - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2016   #1
DIYMA 500 Club

Hungry all the time

Rep Power: 140 fcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enoughfcarpio will become famous soon enough

Default My take on the Illusion Audio Carbon C6 component set

Disclaimer: I am not a professional reviewer. My train of though is cumbersome and I am usually wrong.

Just to give you an idea, my chain is a Note 4 HDMI out > HDMI to Optical converter > PXA-H800 > NVX JAD 900.5 > IA C6 and Alpine SWR-T12 x 2

After the normal tuning and break in period I came to a few conclusions on this set. For starters they are not very hard to drive with my not so powerful amplifier, they can get very loud, to the point of drowning a mustang with a loud-ish muffler. These can be driven pretty hard with not much power. The tweeters are very picky when it comes to installation location. I tried a few places with the worst being mounted behind the factory location inside the A pillar to keep a factory look. Strangely enough (not strange at all), the best location was mounted off axis on the A pillar. what this did was to move them forward an inch or so and they became alive.