DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

Help with clipping and head unit

9K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  Alrojoca 
#1 ·
Ok so I'm getting really pitchy highs when I turn my volume up on my Kenwood KFC-X303 cd receiver. I had a friend tell me to lower the right end of the line graph and I did so. Then he told me to lower the gain. I'm pretty new to car audio so I found two gains one in the crossover and one in DTE settings on the head unit.

I turned down the tweeter front right, front left, rear right, rear left, in the DTE settings to -3db from zero.

Then I turned down the tweeter gain left and gain right to -3db from zero as well. I also turned the front HPF and Rear HPF gain to -3db from zero as well.

This didn't seem to help the clipping. I'm using 14 awg wire at a length of about 20 feet each to each speaker. Don't know exactly what ohm setup it is but i would imagine if it's 2 ohm then maybe the speaker can't handle that power from the amp in my head unit maybe? (22 watts rms).

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks guys.

#2 ·
Go to a local stereo shop and have someone look at it. The amount of information someone would need to give you to explain everything you did and what you need to do would be exhausting over the forum. I think you need to find someone to help get you the basics of car audio as well as to pinpoint what issues youre having.

Also, you really need to know exactly what each component of you stereo system is in order for anyone to assist you. There are so many variables in your post that it would be very difficult to help you pinpoint your issue without solid information on what exactly is in your car.

Please don't take this as a slight. Just think it might be best for you to get some local assistance. Maybe check the 12volt events section and see if there are any get togethers in your area. You might meet some people who can get you pointed in the right direction.

Good luck.

#3 ·