Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018   #1
 
mechatron's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 490

Thanks: 110
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 77 mechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Hi guys,

I’m wondering if any of the PS8 users on here are having the same issue as I'm having.

I have a PS8 with firmware 201078 using the latest PS8 software 3.0.2 and for the last few years I have used a 3-position latching toggle switch to change between pre-sets 1, 2 and 3.

Before the latest firmware update, when the PS8 was first powered up it would always use the tune relative to the selected pre-set on the latching toggle switch.

However, since doing the latest firmware update (& it may be a coincidence), every time the PS8 powers up, it ignores the position of the latching toggle switch and starts with the most recent file/tune that was loaded into the PS8 via laptop. After power up, the correct pre-set (i.e. the desired tune) can only be selected by toggling the switch to a different pre-set and then back to the desired pre-set.

Unfortunately this a major problem for me as I regularly compete in Statewide SQ competitions…therefore on top of testing for tonality, imaging, staging etc, they also test my system for on/off pops…meaning that the wrong tune may be played/judged once the power is cycled (and I cannot be inside my car while judging is carried out to check that the PS8 is playing the correct tune).

Has anyone on here experienced this issue? Do you think the issue lies inside the PS8, the software or the firmware update? Also is there a way to hard reset/factory reset the PS8?

Thanks guys

Last edited by mechatron; 05-01-2018 at 07:51 PM..
mechatron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2018   #2
 
mechatron's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 490

Thanks: 110
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 77 mechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

So no one on here has had this issue? Anyone know how to hard reset the PS8? Thanks guys
mechatron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2018   #3
DIYMA 500 Club
 
bnae38's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 1,577

Thanks: 307
Thanked 152 Times in 116 Posts
Rep Power: 64 bnae38 will become famous soon enoughbnae38 will become famous soon enoughbnae38 will become famous soon enoughbnae38 will become famous soon enoughbnae38 will become famous soon enoughbnae38 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (12)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Imagine isn't hardware, I remember various quirks with the software back when I used one. Mostly related to filters sometimes not working though.

Best bet is to let Fred at arc know. He can likely look into it for you. Iirc it was him dealing with ps8 mostly, not brad.

2012 Subaru Impreza Sedan. Pioneer P880prs, Helix Dsp.2, JL 12w6v2 sealed, Arc KS1000.1, Modified Arc KS900.6, FI N.7 midbass, Illusion Audio C3cx. Ipod Classic - apple lossless. Just keep tryin' to get a little better.
bnae38 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to bnae38 For This Useful Post:
mechatron (05-05-2018)
 
Old 05-05-2018   #4
 
mechatron's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 490

Thanks: 110
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 77 mechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnae38 View Post
Imagine isn't hardware, I remember various quirks with the software back when I used one. Mostly related to filters sometimes not working though.



Best bet is to let Fred at arc know. He can likely look into it for you. Iirc it was him dealing with ps8 mostly, not brad.


Thanks for the reply mate. Yes I’ve now made contact with Fred and sent him a video showing the issue. I seem to think its software related too, however once the engineers get some free time they’re going to try and replicate the issue and get back to me
mechatron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2018   #5
 
mechatron's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 490

Thanks: 110
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 77 mechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Great news, this preset issue has now been resolved from the latest software and firmware update by Arc Audio. I’m now a very happy man
mechatron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to mechatron For This Useful Post:
bnae38 (05-17-2018)
Old 05-25-2019   #6
 
Newbie
Join Date: May 2019
Location: PANAMA
Posts: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 performancesoundpty will become famous soon enoughperformancesoundpty will become famous soon enoughperformancesoundpty will become famous soon enoughperformancesoundpty will become famous soon enoughperformancesoundpty will become famous soon enoughperformancesoundpty will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechatron View Post
Thanks for the reply mate. Yes I’ve now made contact with Fred and sent him a video showing the issue. I seem to think its software related too, however once the engineers get some free time they’re going to try and replicate the issue and get back to me

Hi, how was this problem with you?
performancesoundpty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2019   #7
 
mechatron's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 490

Thanks: 110
Thanked 44 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 77 mechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enoughmechatron will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Arc Audio PS8 - Pre-set issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by performancesoundpty View Post
Hi, how was this problem with you?


It was a software bug but they’ve since updated the software (a long time ago) and completely resolved the issue. Excellent customer service by Fred & Arc Audio
mechatron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy