2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2019   #1
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

I have 2 JL Audio RD400/4 that is going into my truck. The plan is to bridge each amp. What is the appropriate way to connect the front stage? Driver's side to one amp and passenger side to the other? Or tweeters to one amp and mids to the other? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-17-2019   #2
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 266

Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 112 kanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Tweeters to one and mids to the other... but that is a lot of power for a set of tweeters. You could get away with bridging one to the mids, and using the other as a 4 channel with two channels for the tweeter, leaving you with two extra channels for whatever.

2016 Ford F150 Supercrew Sport: Soundstream Ref 5.1000 (Front High +sub) - Soundstream RN4.1400D(Rear and MB) - DSP 408 - Audio Control DQXS - JL 12TW3 - Image dynamics XS28 + X69, Scanspeak 10f, CTX65 (rear).
kanadian-kaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019   #3
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
SkizeR's Avatar
 
Prisoner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16,977

12V Company:
Apicella Auto Sound
Position:
Janitor

Thanks: 1,073
Thanked 1,646 Times in 1,146 Posts
Rep Power: 449 SkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (42)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

doesnt matter, but i would do drivers side on one, and passanger side on the other. reason being is to 1) not put most of the draw to one amp (midbass will pull much more current) causing one to heat up a lot more than the other, and 2) better left/right separation in theory.

SkizeR is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-17-2019   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Bayboy's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lost In Space
Posts: 6,999

Thanks: 67
Thanked 303 Times in 260 Posts
Rep Power: 190 Bayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud ofBayboy has much to be proud of


iTrader: (7)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Honestly, that's a lot of power for even mids even though many do it including me. Mainly I didn't want the extra channels of a 4 & 5 channel amps going to waste on a 3-way + sub. Basically, that's enough power to run a 3-way+sub if chosen right. Above sub frequencies we don't use as much power as you think for common listening levels.

That's enough rambling...

Man & Machine... Power Extreme!

Bayboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019   #5
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
I have 2 JL Audio RD400/4 that is going into my truck. The plan is to bridge each amp. What is the appropriate way to connect the front stage? Driver's side to one amp and passenger side to the other? Or tweeters to one amp and mids to the other? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
It doesn't really matter, whatever you want. I have one bridged on mids and one running two channels only on tweets, leaving two channels free. One of these bridged on tweets seems like overkill, and maybe too much.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Thanks guys!

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019   #7
 
Mahapederdon's Avatar
 
Newbie
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San diego
Age: 41
Posts: 236

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 40 Mahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

I would do 1 amp for mids and 1 amp for tweets unbridged on the tweet side. My reasoning is you'll be able to keep the gain allot lower on the tweets and you'll have less noise. For me my tweeters have a tiny hiss when my volume is at 0. I only hear it if I get close to the tweeters but if my gain was where my midbass gain is it would probably be worse.
Mahapederdon is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2019   #8
 
Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,148

Thanks: 113
Thanked 93 Times in 76 Posts
Rep Power: 41 JH1973 will become famous soon enoughJH1973 will become famous soon enoughJH1973 will become famous soon enoughJH1973 will become famous soon enoughJH1973 will become famous soon enoughJH1973 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

With all of that power and 8 channels I'd find a way to make it a 3-way front.Bridge the midbass channels and run the mid-range and tweets off the other 4.

"Rumors of Bob but never Bob.........So what is it you tell people you do these days Bob?"
JH1973 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2019   #9
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by JH1973 View Post
With all of that power and 8 channels I'd find a way to make it a 3-way front.Bridge the midbass channels and run the mid-range and tweets off the other 4.
In my case, that is the final goal. One amp bridged on midbass, the other amp for tweets and mids. Some of us just take one step at a time, as opposed to putting the whole system together at once.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #10
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Amps have been revamped and the install is complete. The RD's replaced my Gladens. Thanks guys!



Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #11
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
Amps have been revamped and the install is complete. The RD's replaced my Gladens. Thanks guys!



Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
So, what do you think about them? Any difference to speak of?
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #12
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
So, what do you think about them? Any difference to speak of?
The only difference is that the Gladen xl 250c4 sounds warmer and laid back while the RD sounds cleaner and crisper. Not a "in your face" type but just clean. Sort of like in the home audio world, Gladen = tube amp and RD = solid state.

Nothing else changed except for the amps.

Head unit is a Pioneer avh5800bhs
Seas Lotus Reference RT27A tweeters
FaitalPRO 8FE200 8"*woofers

Still need some fine tuning, but so far, I've ran the auto EQ and TA from the HU and it's clean! I've listened to various tracks and haven't really need to utilize the 13 band EQ to cut anything.



Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #13
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
The only difference is that the Gladen xl 250c4 sounds warmer and laid back while the RD sounds cleaner and crisper. Not a "in your face" type but just clean. Sort of like in the home audio world, Gladen = tube amp and RD = solid state.

Nothing else changed except for the amps.

Head unit is a Pioneer avh5800bhs
Seas Lotus Reference RT27A tweeters
FaitalPRO 8FE200 8"*woofers

Still need some fine tuning, but so far, I've ran the auto EQ and TA from the HU and it's clean! I've listened to various tracks and haven't really need to utilize the 13 band EQ to cut anything.



Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
Glad to hear they're satisfactory, so far. You can probably tune for that warmer, laid back sound, if you want to. I wouldn't know where to start with that, though.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #14
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
Glad to hear they're satisfactory, so far. You can probably tune for that warmer, laid back sound, if you want to. I wouldn't know where to start with that, though.
Thanks! It's a sound I would have to get used to.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #15
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
Thanks! It's a sound I would have to get used to.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
Did you do one per side, or run them in stereo?
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #16
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 376

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 168 thisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enoughthisgsx will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
Did you do one per side, or run them in stereo?
I didn't want to pull apart my RCA's to extend the reach so I did tweeters to one amp and mids to the other. If I remember correctly, there's an error in the manual, which states that for bridging, only Channels 1& 3 are used and to set it in 2-channel mode. That's a discrepancy it needs to be set to 4-channel mode. I was having all sorts of phasing issues and it drove me nuts. To the point where I couldn't even listen to my music.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

'07 FJ Cruiser, Pioneer AVH-5800BHS, Seas Lotus Reference RT27F, 8" Seas Excel w22ex001 midwoofer, 1 JL Audio 13w7, knuconceptz cables
thisgsx is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #17
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 941

Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts
Rep Power: 31 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
I didn't want to pull apart my RCA's to extend the reach so I did tweeters to one amp and mids to the other. If I remember correctly, there's an error in the manual, which states that for bridging, only Channels 1& 3 are used and to set it in 2-channel mode. That's a discrepancy it needs to be set to 4-channel mode. I was having all sorts of phasing issues and it drove me nuts. To the point where I couldn't even listen to my music.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
If I recall correctly, the labels on the amp made more sense than the manual, in that regard.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #18
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: DSotM
Posts: 1,145

Thanks: 6
Thanked 80 Times in 51 Posts
Rep Power: 234 tRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond reputetRidiot has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (17)



Default Re: 2-way Front stage, active, 2 amps questions

Too much power for tweets???

BAH.

I've run alot more than that to tweets, and hell, now I'm running 150x2 to HLCDs.

Set your gains, level-match, and don't worry about it.

"You never know why you're alive until you know what you would die for." - Bart Millard

'04 Tahoe -- Pioneer/ID HLCDs/SI TM65 mkII x4/JBL W15GTi x3/Zapco Z-series & Z8
'09 370Z -- Pioneer/Morel/Dynaudio/SI Magv3 x2/Sundown and Zapco DC amps and DRC-SL
tRidiot is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019   #19
 
Chris12's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Age: 100
Posts: 408

Thanks: 674
Thanked 169 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 16 Chris12 will become famous soon enoughChris12 will become famous soon enoughChris12 will become famous soon enoughChris12 will become famous soon enoughChris12 will become famous soon enoughChris12 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgsx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
Did you do one per side, or run them in stereo?
I didn't want to pull apart my RCA's to extend the reach so I did tweeters to one amp and mids to the other. If I remember correctly, there's an error in the manual, which states that for bridging, only Channels 1& 3 are used and to set it in 2-channel mode. That's a discrepancy it needs to be set to 4-channel mode. I was having all sorts of phasing issues and it drove me nuts. To the point where I couldn't even listen to my music.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk
Thanks for posting this.

I have a very similar setup to you with my tweets and mids on one xd400/4 and my mid bass on another bridged xd400/4. Your post prompted me to re-visit how mine was hooked up, and sure enough, it was wrong.

I love this site. Thanks again for sharing!

DDX9905s HU| MiniDSP| JL XD Amps | GS10/GS40/GS690| AE SBP15
JL ZR800’s on the way!
Chris12 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audi RS5 front stage driver locations: 2 way passive vs 3 way active Stretch_RS5 System Design - Help Me Choose Equipment For My Car 31 3 Weeks Ago 07:43 PM
3way front stage vs 2way front stage. vwjmkv System Design - Help Me Choose Equipment For My Car 2 12-05-2016 06:24 PM
3 way active, Hertz Mille comps for front stage, want 2 add midrange for 4 way active lust4sound General Car Audio Discussion 6 11-18-2015 12:07 PM
4-way front stage or 3-way front and 2-way sub stage - can this be pulled off? Niebur3 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 10 10-07-2015 06:41 AM
Matching Amps for 3 Way Active Front Stage braves6117 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 12 07-02-2009 01:54 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy