Noob question - powering DSP - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2019   #1
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 18


Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 chrmbly will become famous soon enoughchrmbly will become famous soon enoughchrmbly will become famous soon enoughchrmbly will become famous soon enoughchrmbly will become famous soon enoughchrmbly will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Noob question - powering DSP

So, I'm going to feel stupid asking this... I have a Rockford DSR-1 DSP that requires a source for remote turn on AND a source for constant 12v. I didn't realize this until I buttoned up everything (that it needed a constant 12v source).

My dad had the bright (or, maybe NOT so bright) idea of just running a wire off the amp's power to it... So in other words, I have a small gauge cable plugged into the power input for my amplifier next to my big 4 ga wire coming directly from the battery, then run to my DSR1.

I have a feeling I'll be laughed at for this one, or told that my car is a firebomb waiting to happen. It powers it fine, no issues... Was planning on throwing a fuse on that line just to be safe. So, am I an idiot for doing this, or will it be ok so long as I fuse it w/ a low amp fuse?

Thanks - sorry for the dumb question.
chrmbly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2019   #2
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Littleton CO
Age: 37
Posts: 185

Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 156 fischman will become famous soon enoughfischman will become famous soon enoughfischman will become famous soon enoughfischman will become famous soon enoughfischman will become famous soon enoughfischman will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (4)



Default Re: Noob question - powering DSP

Definitely fuse it and you'll be fine. It' not the ideal situation having multiple wires plugged into the single input since the smaller one could potentially come loose, but as long as it's fused and the connection is tight you will be fine.

Josh
fischman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2019   #3
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Outside The Box
Posts: 2,426

Thanks: 451
Thanked 633 Times in 548 Posts
Rep Power: 58 Grinder will become famous soon enoughGrinder will become famous soon enoughGrinder will become famous soon enoughGrinder will become famous soon enoughGrinder will become famous soon enoughGrinder will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Noob question - powering DSP

^This^

It's not a dumb question.

Be sure to size the fuse well below the ampacity of that small wire in question, and install the fuse as close to the amp terminal as practically possible.
Grinder is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-20-2019   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Lanson's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LV, NV
Posts: 7,021

Thanks: 100
Thanked 204 Times in 166 Posts
Rep Power: 955 Lanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond reputeLanson has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (32)



Default Re: Noob question - powering DSP

That'll do but not really, and you know it so I won't chastise. The best way to handle this is to insert a distribution block in the mix. Amazon is selling these integrated power/ground blocks and actually...they are quite good! I think $30 is the going price, and I've had good success with these little blocks and they work great with ferrules (also on Amazon.) They will come with fuses (random sizes but probably good for you) so that should be all you need, along with a tiny bit of re-wiring to put your amp and DSR1 in that distribution block.

Special thanks to all of the industry experts that share their knowledge here on the forum
2015 Durango R/T, MS-8, Massive N3, set of NX4's, Audiofrog GS690 and GS10, Wavecor center, Sundown SD3 10's
2018 WRX, Helix V Eight and G-One, AD W600, AP AR3 & AR20, AE AV10H-D2
Lanson is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2019   #5
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 266

Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 112 kanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enoughkanadian-kaos will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Noob question - powering DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmbly View Post
My dad had the bright (or, maybe NOT so bright) idea of just running a wire off the amp's power to it... So in other words, I have a small gauge cable plugged into the power input for my amplifier next to my big 4 ga wire coming directly from the battery, then run to my DSR1.

I have a feeling I'll be laughed at for this one, or told that my car is a firebomb waiting to happen. It powers it fine, no issues... Was planning on throwing a fuse on that line just to be safe. So, am I an idiot for doing this, or will it be ok so long as I fuse it w/ a low amp fuse?

Thanks - sorry for the dumb question.
100% doable that way. Hide the new power wire under the 4 gauge and cover it in split loom... no one will know, but it does need a mini fuseholder inline (they are $5-$8, littlefuse). No need to waste money for a distribution block if you only have one amplifier unless you are planning to upgrade later.

2016 Ford F150 Supercrew Sport: Soundstream Ref 5.1000 (Front High +sub) - Soundstream RN4.1400D(Rear and MB) - DSP 408 - Audio Control DQXS - JL 12TW3 - Image dynamics XS28 + X69, Scanspeak 10f, CTX65 (rear).
kanadian-kaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2019   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vermont
Age: 58
Posts: 6,023

Thanks: 17
Thanked 305 Times in 269 Posts
Rep Power: 189 miniSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the roughminiSQ is a jewel in the rough


iTrader: (20)



Default Re: Noob question - powering DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmbly View Post
So, I'm going to feel stupid asking this... I have a Rockford DSR-1 DSP that requires a source for remote turn on AND a source for constant 12v. I didn't realize this until I buttoned up everything (that it needed a constant 12v source).

My dad had the bright (or, maybe NOT so bright) idea of just running a wire off the amp's power to it... So in other words, I have a small gauge cable plugged into the power input for my amplifier next to my big 4 ga wire coming directly from the battery, then run to my DSR1.

I have a feeling I'll be laughed at for this one, or told that my car is a firebomb waiting to happen. It powers it fine, no issues... Was planning on throwing a fuse on that line just to be safe. So, am I an idiot for doing this, or will it be ok so long as I fuse it w/ a low amp fuse?

Thanks - sorry for the dumb question.


That is how i always ran my HelixDSP...4ga into my amp and 18ga out of my amp and into my HelixDSP. Just be sure to use any fuses that came with the RF, or follow any fusing quidlines in the manual.

2018 Crosstrek
Helix P SIX Mk2-AF Gs690 GB15-SI RM12- Zapco Z-2kd
miniSQ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POWERING MOREL SUPREMO 602 WITH HELIX P SIX DSP MK2 manojp73 General Car Audio Discussion 9 05-08-2019 01:35 PM
Anyody powering a dual voice coil suwoofer with Helix p six dsp mk2? manojp73 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 5 07-28-2018 07:41 AM
Helix C-DSP Car off powering Amps ? Ruchab91 General Car Audio Discussion 4 09-02-2015 09:09 PM
Properly powering a mediocre subwoofer vs under-powering a good sub-woofer (750RMS) geforce789 General Car Audio Discussion 4 03-03-2015 05:55 PM
Powering mini dsp bigfastmike Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 13 10-17-2012 08:18 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy