F150 Door Acoustic Insulation Treatment Review & Measurements - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2019   #1
Upgrade Your Membership!

Rep Power: 91 EvAnA will become famous soon enoughEvAnA will become famous soon enoughEvAnA will become famous soon enoughEvAnA will become famous soon enoughEvAnA will become famous soon enoughEvAnA will become famous soon enough

Default F150 Door Acoustic Insulation Treatment Review & Measurements

TLDR:
Don't wait years to treat door speaker backwaves/reflections like I did.

Pictures and measurements will be linked at the end.

Before I get to my findings I want to share the backstory that started me on this learning experience.

I am far from an expert installer/measure/tuner and recently changing my front stage back to a high power 2-way (from 3-way) really highlighted my flaws. Specifically I have Steven's Audio MB-8s in the doors of my 2015 F150, and I moved the lowpass up to 2000hz L-R 24db slope. I'd been wanting to try them in 2-way because they'd been serving as absolute distortion free monsters in 3-way and certainly could outpace the midrange I had been using. The MB-8s are running on a JL Audio HD600/4 bridged to 300x2. The treatment in my doors consisted of cld deadner inside & out of panels and covering all holes including the access hole with painted 1/4" MDF.

I did an initial tune and got a decent sound but there was significant harshness coming from my doors that would peak enough to hurt my ears on certain notes/sounds. And yes the curve I tune for includes a slight dip in the 1500-3000 range. But the MB-8s should have no problem playing that high so I was determined to figure out my issue.