Do I have the correct DSP? - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2019   #1
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 526

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 60 dsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Do I have the correct DSP?

Well, my 1991 Honda Accord, with over 300,000 miles on it, finally died (broken crank shaft, of all things!). I'm going to pick up a 2003 Honda Accord LX, so I am going to start all over with the audio system. I will not be able to use the Eclipse CD8454 head unit, but most other components I will be able to install into the car.

I have a Mosconi 6to8 V8 that I will be pulling from my previous car. Will this be a good fit with the stock head unit on this 2003 Accord? Or, are there better DSPs for it? Are there better DSPs for stock radios. Does the 6to8 V8 lack anything that would make it perform at optimum because of the stock head unit?

And, does anyone know of any concerns, pitfalls, etc. with working with that generation Accord?

Thanks.

Last edited by dsw1204; 06-05-2019 at 10:19 AM..
dsw1204 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2019   #2
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
SkizeR's Avatar
 
Prisoner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16,989

12V Company:
Apicella Auto Sound
Position:
Janitor

Thanks: 1,076
Thanked 1,652 Times in 1,150 Posts
Rep Power: 449 SkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (42)



Default Re: Do I have the correct DSP?

id be more focused on getting a proper source as opposed to worrying what dsp you have at this stage.

SkizeR is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2019   #3
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 526

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 60 dsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Do I have the correct DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkizeR View Post
id be more focused on getting a proper source as opposed to worrying what dsp you have at this stage.
Okay, but it looks like I will not be able to switch out the head unit. It's like with all current cars, now. All controls are integrated into the dashboard. The head unit is integrated into the dashboard, so I do not think I can change that out.

If you look at pics of the 2003 Accord, you will see what I mean. If I can change out head units, I will gladly do that.
dsw1204 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-05-2019   #4
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
SkizeR's Avatar
 
Prisoner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16,989

12V Company:
Apicella Auto Sound
Position:
Janitor

Thanks: 1,076
Thanked 1,652 Times in 1,150 Posts
Rep Power: 449 SkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (42)



Default Re: Do I have the correct DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsw1204 View Post
Okay, but it looks like I will not be able to switch out the head unit. It's like with all current cars, now. All controls are integrated into the dashboard. The head unit is integrated into the dashboard, so I do not think I can change that out.

If you look at pics of the 2003 Accord, you will see what I mean. If I can change out head units, I will gladly do that.
did ya even look? sorry to break it to ya, but 2003 isnt very new lol. There are multiple options from metra alone. One to replace the factory radio, and one to add an aftermarket one below it. The first option includes hvac controls but is more expensive. the second one installs a radio below the oem hvac controls in the little cubby.

Results for: 2003 > Honda > Accord > LX > 2-door > Coupe | Vehicle Fit Guide | Metra Online

SkizeR is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2019   #5
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Alrojoca's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: The New World Order State
Posts: 4,538

Thanks: 44
Thanked 121 Times in 103 Posts
Rep Power: 130 Alrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enoughAlrojoca will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (15)



Default Re: Do I have the correct DSP?

Yes 2003 is old beyond any worries about the new world order of complex integrated globalist features.

Replace the head unit
Alrojoca is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2019   #6
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 526

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 60 dsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enoughdsw1204 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Do I have the correct DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkizeR View Post
did ya even look? sorry to break it to ya, but 2003 isnt very new lol. There are multiple options from metra alone. One to replace the factory radio, and one to add an aftermarket one below it. The first option includes hvac controls but is more expensive. the second one installs a radio below the oem hvac controls in the little cubby.

Results for: 2003 > Honda > Accord > LX > 2-door > Coupe | Vehicle Fit Guide | Metra Online
I just picked up the Accord today. I had only looked at pics previously and did not notice the cubby hole underneath, which is covered by a door. I don't like the option of putting my Eclipse CD8454 in that cubby hole. I am going to want to use that space for storage. So, it looks like I am going to have to let go of that head unit and get a double din (that's a bummer, I really liked it). And, since I will be doing that, I won't have to worry about my Mosconi 6to8, since it was working fine with my Eclipse. I was worried that the Mosconi wouldn't integrate well with the stock head unit of the Accord, but that's a moot point, now.

Any recommendations on a double-din? I would like to keep it as simple as possible, keeping my eyes on the road as much as possible.
dsw1204 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy