Sound quality varies at different vehicle start ups, same source, same songs. What gi - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2019   #1
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 29


Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 19 richardar6 will become famous soon enoughrichardar6 will become famous soon enoughrichardar6 will become famous soon enoughrichardar6 will become famous soon enoughrichardar6 will become famous soon enoughrichardar6 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Sound quality varies at different vehicle start ups, same source, same songs. What gi

Please help me figure this out. Sometimes, my system sounds great, with good bass, mids, and highs and other times it sounds lifeless (like a poorly recorded track or highly compressed Mp3). If and when the change occurs, it's related to vehicle start up- in other words it may play great and continue to do so for the entire drive, then I turn off the Jeep, and the next start or a few starts later, it sounds like someone screwed all my Eq settings. It does not matter what source material is playing-usb, SD, Bluetooth, etc, and even the same song that normally sounds good can sound different at different times.

I have swapped all speakers (different brands) 3 times, all amps have been changed out 3 times. I went from high level inputs direct into amps, changed to an LC2i and Clarion Eq, to a DQ-61, and now a Dayton Dsp-408. The only thing that hasn't changed (and I'm stuck with) is the Uconnect head unit in my 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee (non-amplified). I've never had this problem before, but I've always replaced stock head units for aftermarket. I realize process of elimination points to the factory head unit, but in the off chance it isn't defective, is there something I might have missed?

Some people say they need load resistors on their uconnect speaker level outputs in order to get signal to the LOC, but mine is still able to put out a signal without errors. The only other thing I can think of is the wiring splice from the factory speaker harness originally run to the high level inputs of the 1st amp I had originally installed. It was done by an installer and is the only other thing I haven't redone. I noticed a couple of those wires smashed flat when the rear seat was lowered and bolted down. I have since repositioned them. I can't imagine that to be the problem, but at this point, I'm hoping for something that simple.

Anyone ever have a similar experience or be able to explain possible causes? Would those smashed (but intact) high level speaker wires affect output voltage going to the LOC enough to cause my issue? When my system acts up, I do have to crank the volume to compensate. Please and thank you for your help.
richardar6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2019   #2
 
Mahapederdon's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San diego
Age: 42
Posts: 548

Thanks: 1
Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 46 Mahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Can you get an AmpPro to eliminate the deck issue. My older brother has a dodge with a u connect and his sounded like hell. But he's told me sometimes it sounded decent. I think you do need load resistors if your not able to use a AmpPro. I read somewhere the stock amp has trouble without a load. Even if the car isn't complaining. My bet is its the stock amp. Resistors are cheap.
Mahapederdon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019   #3
 
Mahapederdon's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San diego
Age: 42
Posts: 548

Thanks: 1
Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 46 Mahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

I just remembered. When I tried to set his gains with a scope the sin wave wasn't round. It wasn't clipping but it was not a sin wave.
Mahapederdon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-11-2019   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 369

Thanks: 54
Thanked 51 Times in 50 Posts
Rep Power: 181 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Sound quality varies at different vehicle start ups, same source, same songs. Wha

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahapederdon View Post
Can you get an AmpPro to eliminate the deck issue. My older brother has a dodge with a u connect and his sounded like hell. But he's told me sometimes it sounded decent. I think you do need load resistors if your not able to use a AmpPro. I read somewhere the stock amp has trouble without a load. Even if the car isn't complaining. My bet is its the stock amp. Resistors are cheap.
The AmpPRO only works on factory amplified systems (Alpine, Beats, etc.). I’ve found plenty of strange glitches with my uConnect head unit over the years and will upgrade to an aftermarket head unit as soon as funds allow.

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019   #5
 
Newbie
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cali
Posts: 47

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 21 Nakamichifan will become famous soon enoughNakamichifan will become famous soon enoughNakamichifan will become famous soon enoughNakamichifan will become famous soon enoughNakamichifan will become famous soon enoughNakamichifan will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Same issue I am having on my newly installed system. I thought maybe it was poor cellular signal. I just installed Wi-Fi yesterday and still have the issue. Some times sounds good and other times like crap.
Nakamichifan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy