Pac amp pro - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1 Week Ago   #1
 
Member
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: louisiana
Posts: 1,399

Thanks: 1
Thanked 126 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 65 drop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Pac amp pro

Last question for a while, promise.


My local shop is swearing by the pac amp pro stuff.
He swears its fantastic, which I dont doubt but if it's not by passing my head units internal amp (i have no out board stock amps, how can it be any better than feeding the stock signal to the helix?

I dont think he understood what I was asking or maybe I'm confused. I don't want to have my head units internal amp in the chain. What's the point if that same internal amp is just feeding another pre (amp pro) before hitting the helix.

I have plenty of signal. What am I missing?

From what I've been told here, no product can get a signal from anywhere other than the speaker level outputs of this radio.

Its sync 3, non sony in a 2016 ford f150.

He swears it will give me a home hi fi quality pre amp output but doesnt the helix already do that?
drop1 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 1 Week Ago   #2
 
Mahapederdon's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San diego
Age: 42
Posts: 345

Thanks: 1
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 42 Mahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

I think it grabs the signal before the stock amp, but the stock amp needs to be in the chain because all the can-bus stuff will complain if it's unhooked.
Mahapederdon is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #3
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
SkizeR's Avatar
 
Prisoner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 17,126

12V Company:
Apicella Auto Sound
Position:
Janitor

Thanks: 1,087
Thanked 1,688 Times in 1,176 Posts
Rep Power: 452 SkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond reputeSkizeR has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (42)



Default Re: Pac amp pro

i dont think this piece works if its non-sony

SkizeR is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 1 Week Ago   #4
 
Member
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: louisiana
Posts: 1,399

Thanks: 1
Thanked 126 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 65 drop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enoughdrop1 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkizeR View Post
i dont think this piece works if its non-sony
I believe you are correct. I think it's designed to grab the signal from the radio in systems with seprate stock amps .

He was trying to sell me on it and this is a man that has never steered me wrong in 25 years.
I dont think he understood what I am wanting.
I believe him when he says it's good and it kinda make me wish I had gotten the sony system but I didnt.

He was showing me the new linkswell stuff. That massive screen looks awesome and he said the pac would work with that. Is love that big ass screen but those all in one aftermarket units scare me.
drop1 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #5
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Hillbilly SQ's Avatar
 
Blue Collar Audiophile
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arkansas
Age: 37
Posts: 10,010

12V Company:
Complacent Audio
Position:
Incoherent rambler

Thanks: 215
Thanked 432 Times in 355 Posts
Rep Power: 304 Hillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (21)



Default Re: Pac amp pro

Buying the PAC would be worth it to me if it meant not having to cut factory wires but since you've already done that I wouldn't bother IF it would work with your radio. Just keep in mind you're polishing a turd getting signal from factory speaker outs. This is where bypassing the factory radio altogether with a separate DAP or getting a higher quality unit that can replace the factory radio while still keeping everything that's tied into it would be a good choice.

'16 single cab Ram Tradesman ST with HEMI...Pioneer avh-501ex...Helix dsp.2...Helix G-Five...Zapco ST-4X SQ...LPG 26na...Audiofrog gb25...Scanspeak Discovery 7"...IDQ12v4d4...I'd rather be hated for my honesty than loved for being fake
Hillbilly SQ is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #6
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
GreatLaBroski's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,025

Thanks: 299
Thanked 288 Times in 220 Posts
Rep Power: 32 GreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (5)



Default

The PAC Amppro models bypass the factory sound amplification and take the digital (MOST50 or whatever) signal and create a clean, untampered signal from it.

2017 Chevy Bolt EV - Work in Progress: Scanspeak D3004/6040-10 Beryllium tweeters, Scanspeak 12mu mids, Scanspeak 18wu midbasses, Scanspeak 32w/4878T00 13" Subwoofer, Scanspeak 10F / Eminence SD28's (rear doors), Scanspeak 10F (rear fill). MiniDSP C-DSP 8x12 v2 DL, Arc Audio KS 300.2 v2, Arc Audio SKS300.6 Prototype, Arc Audio KS300.4 v2
GreatLaBroski is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #7
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Hillbilly SQ's Avatar
 
Blue Collar Audiophile
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arkansas
Age: 37
Posts: 10,010

12V Company:
Complacent Audio
Position:
Incoherent rambler

Thanks: 215
Thanked 432 Times in 355 Posts
Rep Power: 304 Hillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond reputeHillbilly SQ has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (21)



Default Re: Pac amp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatLaBroski View Post
The PAC Amppro models bypass the factory sound amplification and take the digital (MOST50 or whatever) signal and create a clean, untampered signal from it.
Even if there's no factory amp?

'16 single cab Ram Tradesman ST with HEMI...Pioneer avh-501ex...Helix dsp.2...Helix G-Five...Zapco ST-4X SQ...LPG 26na...Audiofrog gb25...Scanspeak Discovery 7"...IDQ12v4d4...I'd rather be hated for my honesty than loved for being fake
Hillbilly SQ is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #8
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
GreatLaBroski's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,025

Thanks: 299
Thanked 288 Times in 220 Posts
Rep Power: 32 GreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enoughGreatLaBroski will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (5)



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillbilly SQ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatLaBroski View Post
The PAC Amppro models bypass the factory sound amplification and take the digital (MOST50 or whatever) signal and create a clean, untampered signal from it.
Even if there's no factory amp?
Correct, it intercepts the data signal and outputs a clean signal.

2017 Chevy Bolt EV - Work in Progress: Scanspeak D3004/6040-10 Beryllium tweeters, Scanspeak 12mu mids, Scanspeak 18wu midbasses, Scanspeak 32w/4878T00 13" Subwoofer, Scanspeak 10F / Eminence SD28's (rear doors), Scanspeak 10F (rear fill). MiniDSP C-DSP 8x12 v2 DL, Arc Audio KS 300.2 v2, Arc Audio SKS300.6 Prototype, Arc Audio KS300.4 v2
GreatLaBroski is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #9
 
Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 298

Thanks: 24
Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 57 jdunk54nl will become famous soon enoughjdunk54nl will become famous soon enoughjdunk54nl will become famous soon enoughjdunk54nl will become famous soon enoughjdunk54nl will become famous soon enoughjdunk54nl will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Pac amp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatLaBroski View Post
Correct, it intercepts the data signal and outputs a clean signal.
See this is where I get confused on how it works. It intercepts the signal normally sent to the sony amp in the f150. But the signal that is sent there is coming out of the factory HU's Left and right channels...the same ones that normally feed the speakers if you do not have the Sony Amp. The only difference is an AsBuilt code change to the control module (ACM).

In other words, does the AsBuilt code change bypass the internal amp if it is coming out of the same pin outs on the ACM? Or does it just change how much voltage the amp sends out? Either way the signal is actually a fairly clean signal all the way to max. No bass roll off or any other eq mods if you do the forscan change to flat eq. I know my low level forscan code change has a perfect sine wave all the way to max too. I don't know if you do high level if that is the case. It is definitely just as good as quite a few aftermarket HU's

The following says Fusion, but all ford's from 2013 on share the same ACM as far as I know. You can see the pinouts are the same no matter the sony or non sony, except less pins used on the Sony version as it only sends left and right.




2014 F150 Limited -> Factory HU programmed for 4v outputs -> Helix DSP.2 -> Alpine PDX-V9 -> SI M25 in Valicar Stuttgart Pods, SI TM65 mk3, & JL TW3. Rears: SB17's. Resonix 35% CLD and 100% CCF, 100% MLV, Soon: PDX-F6 and SI M3 in Valicar Stuttgart pods

Last edited by jdunk54nl; 6 Days Ago at 08:42 PM..
jdunk54nl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #10
 
Mahapederdon's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: San diego
Age: 42
Posts: 345

Thanks: 1
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 42 Mahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enoughMahapederdon will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Crutchfield doesn't say it works with non Sony. They are usually pretty reliable with that kinda info. Unless I entered the wrong vehicle.
Mahapederdon is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 6 Days Ago   #11
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 10


Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 0 cathul will become famous soon enoughcathul will become famous soon enoughcathul will become famous soon enoughcathul will become famous soon enoughcathul will become famous soon enoughcathul will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Pac amp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdunk54nl View Post
In other words, does the AsBuilt code change bypass the internal amp if it is coming out of the same pin outs on the ACM? Or does it just change how much voltage the amp sends out?
As far as i understood the situation (i have a 2016 Ford Mustang btw, so same ACM) the AsBuilt changes the amp section of the ACM (in case of base model) from amplified to preamp.
In case of the SONY system the volume is controled via CAN bus, so the preamp output is a fixed line level output.
The Pac AmpPro uses both the fixed line level output and the CAN bus to create a variable line output.

You can absolutely do that with ForScan and changes to the AsBuilt code for the ACM. But you have to make sure that you completely bypass the SONY amplifier in the case you switch both front and rear output to variable line level (the ACM puts out both front and rear when set correctly via ForScan), but leave it connected to the CAN bus to prevent error messages from the missing amp. You can do that with a simple T-harness made from a CARAV 12-240.
cathul is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy