Amp going into protect mode - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1 Week Ago   #1
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Amp going into protect mode

Hey guys,

Really wondering what's the best way to diagnose my amplifier that goes into protect mode when turning up the volume. I was using the system for about a month with no hiccups. One day I was driving for about an hour with the music up, and it cut out without warning. Checked the amp and it was in protect mode.

Now when i turn up the volume and amp puts itself into protect mode soon as the bass is about to hit. I've replaced the battery because it was only charging at 50% but hasn't solved my issue. Alternator was replaced about 4 months ago.

I tried unplugging suboofer speaker wire with the RCA plugged in and the can't get the amp to protect at all.

So I'm thinking it's a wiring issue, possibly with the sub i suspect.. I'm curious, what could i start doing to better diagnose the issue?


Thanks for any help here.

My equipment
NVX JAD800.4 800w amp
Aftermarket HU
Running Polk audio component speakers in the front doors and deleted the rear speakers with 16ga speaker wire.
Sundown sd3 d2 for the sub with 12 Ga wire
Sound ordanace bass bunker box





Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 1 Week Ago   #2
 
Newbie
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 18


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 JahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Hey Lenny,

Check your final wiring impedance of your sub to the amp. Also ensure you have a proper ground for your amp. It could be potentially a voltage drop or your amp just running out of power.



Are you in Canada by chance?
JahRah79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #3
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by JahRah79 View Post
Hey Lenny,



Check your final wiring impedance of your sub to the amp. Also ensure you have a proper ground for your amp. It could be potentially a voltage drop or your amp just running out of power.







Are you in Canada by chance?
Thanks for the reply man.

How would I go about checking the final wiring impedance? Forgive my ignorance, I'm a complete noob at electrical stuff. I'll double check the ground but i have it grounded to the batterys ground and is super secure.

Yes! I'm in Canada. You too?

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 1 Week Ago   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora, Co
Age: 36
Posts: 6,838

Thanks: 0
Thanked 529 Times in 448 Posts
Rep Power: 377 gijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (7)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny View Post
Thanks for the reply man.

How would I go about checking the final wiring impedance? Forgive my ignorance, I'm a complete noob at electrical stuff. I'll double check the ground but i have it grounded to the batterys ground and is super secure.

Yes! I'm in Canada. You too?

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
Check the wires carefully from the amp to the sub, it sounds like they are shorting out. Make sure that there is no bare copper touching metal, and that the pos and neg wires aren't touching each other. If the wiring is good, the next step is to check the sub. You'll need a multi-meter with an ohm setting to check the resistance, but if you don't have that you can use a battery to see if the cone moves. Take the pos and neg wires from the sub and touch them to the pos and neg of a small 9 volt battery, a AA will work too. If the cone doesn't move at all don't hold the wires to the battery. If the cone doesn't move you have a bad voice coil, or something has shifted and your sub is probably junk.
gijoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #5
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Worcester MA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,509

Thanks: 174
Thanked 407 Times in 339 Posts
Rep Power: 84 JCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (10)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Put an ohm meter across the + and - of each coil on the subwoofer and it should be ~1.9 Ohms and each coil should be about the same reading. If one reads significantly lower than you may have a short. Check the voltage at the amplifier terminals while the system is playing. The voltage at the amplifier terminal should be about the same reading as whatever you get at the battery terminals but slightly lower is ok. If there is any significant difference like 1 volt than you may have a wiring issue. You can also do a voltage drop test too which is even more accurate by just putting one lead on each end of the wiring connection for both ground and battery cables separately. If you get more than a couple tenths of a volt than you may have a bad connection or poor wiring. You have to do a voltage drop test under load though.

Sienna SB29 Focal PS165V Alpine SWS10 Mazda CX5 AF GB15 AF GB60 AF GB12 Ford F150 AF GB10 JLC5 Sundown SD310.
JCsAudio is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,777

Thanks: 1
Thanked 71 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 132 Sine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enoughSine Swept will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

If you have a meter that has a continuity function, pull out the radio harness and meter each wire against a known ground. If one of the speakers is shorted in a door this will show you which one it is.

DNX 5120, MS-8, Scanspeak Illuminator R3004/6020, Focal 5w2, Morel CAW938, IDMAX12 V3, PPI Ax400's + JBL 1201.1 II
Sine Swept is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #7
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sine Swept View Post
If you have a meter that has a continuity function, pull out the radio harness and meter each wire against a known ground. If one of the speakers is shorted in a door this will show you which one it is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCsAudio View Post
Put an ohm meter across the + and - of each coil on the subwoofer and it should be ~1.9 Ohms and each coil should be about the same reading. If one reads significantly lower than you may have a short. Check the voltage at the amplifier terminals while the system is playing. The voltage at the amplifier terminal should be about the same reading as whatever you get at the battery terminals but slightly lower is ok. If there is any significant difference like 1 volt than you may have a wiring issue. You can also do a voltage drop test too which is even more accurate by just putting one lead on each end of the wiring connection for both ground and battery cables separately. If you get more than a couple tenths of a volt than you may have a bad connection or poor wiring. You have to do a voltage drop test under load though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
Check the wires carefully from the amp to the sub, it sounds like they are shorting out. Make sure that there is no bare copper touching metal, and that the pos and neg wires aren't touching each other. If the wiring is good, the next step is to check the sub. You'll need a multi-meter with an ohm setting to check the resistance, but if you don't have that you can use a battery to see if the cone moves. Take the pos and neg wires from the sub and touch them to the pos and neg of a small 9 volt battery, a AA will work too. If the cone doesn't move at all don't hold the wires to the battery. If the cone doesn't move you have a bad voice coil, or something has shifted and your sub is probably junk.
Thanks for all the suggestions guys. I'm going to hook up the multi meter and see if I can pin point the problem!

Any additional tips/tricks are more than welcome!


Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #8
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCsAudio View Post
Put an ohm meter across the + and - of each coil on the subwoofer and it should be ~1.9 Ohms and each coil should be about the same reading. If one reads significantly lower than you may have a short. Check the voltage at the amplifier terminals while the system is playing. The voltage at the amplifier terminal should be about the same reading as whatever you get at the battery terminals but slightly lower is ok. If there is any significant difference like 1 volt than you may have a wiring issue. You can also do a voltage drop test too which is even more accurate by just putting one lead on each end of the wiring connection for both ground and battery cables separately. If you get more than a couple tenths of a volt than you may have a bad connection or poor wiring. You have to do a voltage drop test under load though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
Check the wires carefully from the amp to the sub, it sounds like they are shorting out. Make sure that there is no bare copper touching metal, and that the pos and neg wires aren't touching each other. If the wiring is good, the next step is to check the sub. You'll need a multi-meter with an ohm setting to check the resistance, but if you don't have that you can use a battery to see if the cone moves. Take the pos and neg wires from the sub and touch them to the pos and neg of a small 9 volt battery, a AA will work too. If the cone doesn't move at all don't hold the wires to the battery. If the cone doesn't move you have a bad voice coil, or something has shifted and your sub is probably junk.
Ok guys I did a ohm tesst with the sub (inside the box sitting normally) and it's measuring 00.5ohm. is this normal? Or is it because the sub is sitting inside the box?

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #9
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora, Co
Age: 36
Posts: 6,838

Thanks: 0
Thanked 529 Times in 448 Posts
Rep Power: 377 gijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (7)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny View Post
Ok guys I did a ohm tesst with the sub (inside the box sitting normally) and it's measuring 00.5ohm. is this normal? Or is it because the sub is sitting inside the box?

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
You need to take the sub out of the box. There's a good chance that the wiring inside the box is the problem. And, no 0.5ohm is not good, it's nearly a dead short, and would cause the amp to go into protect, like you're experiencing.
gijoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #10
 
Newbie
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 18


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 JahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enoughJahRah79 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Hey Lenny, 0.5 ohms definitely shows something is up with the wiring of the sub or the sub itself.

If you're in Ontario in the GTA, I can help you with it. Shoot me a PM.
JahRah79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #11
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by JahRah79 View Post
Hey Lenny, 0.5 ohms definitely shows something is up with the wiring of the sub or the sub itself.

If you're in Ontario in the GTA, I can help you with it. Shoot me a PM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
You need to take the sub out of the box. There's a good chance that the wiring inside the box is the problem. And, no 0.5ohm is not good, it's nearly a dead short, and would cause the amp to go into protect, like you're experiencing.
So bad news. Took the sub out and the one coil reads 0.5ohm and the other 0.2ohm. this means the sub is blown/bad now? Can I use the other coil in the mean time?

Thanks JahRah. I'll shoot you a pm now.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #12
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora, Co
Age: 36
Posts: 6,838

Thanks: 0
Thanked 529 Times in 448 Posts
Rep Power: 377 gijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (7)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny View Post
So bad news. Took the sub out and the one coil reads 0.5ohm and the other 0.2ohm. this means the sub is blown/bad now? Can I use the other coil in the mean time?

Thanks JahRah. I'll shoot you a pm now.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
Nope it's toast. Assuming you measured correctly, 0.5 and 0.2 ohms means the sub is done.
gijoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #13
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Worcester MA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,509

Thanks: 174
Thanked 407 Times in 339 Posts
Rep Power: 84 JCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (10)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Likely the sub has a shorted coil (guessing) because of it overheating and to do that to a Sundown SA series takes a lot because those are tough subwoofers. If you put your nose near the coil do you smell a burnt smell? Does the coil rub if you gently push on the cone. You could always do a recone kit to fix it if you’re up to the challenge.

Sienna SB29 Focal PS165V Alpine SWS10 Mazda CX5 AF GB15 AF GB60 AF GB12 Ford F150 AF GB10 JLC5 Sundown SD310.
JCsAudio is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #14
 
Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CAN
Posts: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 lenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enoughlenny will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCsAudio View Post
Likely the sub has a shorted coil (guessing) because of it overheating and to do that to a Sundown SA series takes a lot because those are tough subwoofers. If you put your nose near the coil do you smell a burnt smell? Does the coil rub if you gently push on the cone. You could always do a recone kit to fix it if you’re up to the challenge.
Well I'm an idiot... I had a single coil bridged to the amp and that's what caused it. Yes the sub smells awful I don't even have to put my nose up to it. Looking into replacement options. Live and learn lol.

I'll try that test tonight with the cone.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #15
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Worcester MA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,509

Thanks: 174
Thanked 407 Times in 339 Posts
Rep Power: 84 JCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enoughJCsAudio will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (10)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

O well, we’ve all done some things we don’t want to admit we did at some point but that’s how you learn sometimes. So you basically put the full 800+ watts on one coil and it survived for a little while. Just scrolled to the top and realized you have an SD3 subwoofer and not an SA. The SD3 will not take the abuse an SA will but it sounds awesome when done right. I love mine.

Sienna SB29 Focal PS165V Alpine SWS10 Mazda CX5 AF GB15 AF GB60 AF GB12 Ford F150 AF GB10 JLC5 Sundown SD310.
JCsAudio is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 1 Week Ago   #16
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora, Co
Age: 36
Posts: 6,838

Thanks: 0
Thanked 529 Times in 448 Posts
Rep Power: 377 gijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond reputegijoe has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (7)



Default Re: Amp going into protect mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny View Post
Well I'm an idiot... I had a single coil bridged to the amp and that's what caused it. Yes the sub smells awful I don't even have to put my nose up to it. Looking into replacement options. Live and learn lol.

I'll try that test tonight with the cone.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
There's no need to test any further, if you are getting resistance readings that low. If they sell recone kits for that sub, you can repair it, otherwise you'll want to start shopping.
gijoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy