IN MY CAR TEST: Jl 12w7 vs Morel Ultimo 12 SC vs Phoenix Gold Ti12d Elite! - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011   #1
DIYMA 500 Club

Default IN MY CAR TEST: Jl 12w7 vs Morel Ultimo 12 SC vs Phoenix Gold Ti12d Elite!

Well guys, here we go! I have been using a JL 12w7 prowedge in my car for about two years and decided it was time for an upgrade. I have heard so many good things about the Morel Ultimo and Ultimo SC that I took a chance and ordered one. The PG Ti12d is in the picture because I purchased that just before I found the great deal on the Morel.

So anyway, back to the test. My head unit is an Alpine CDA-9887. I am making full use of the time alignment, crossovers and parametric eq. For comps I am running a pair of Morel mt23 tweeters along with a set of Morel Supremo 6's glassed in my doors. Everything is crossed active by the Alpine (LP 63HZ 24db/Mid-low 80hz 12db/mid-hi 2500k 12db/hi 4k 18db).

My Morel comp set is powered by a Soundstream Reference 414s while an old school Phoenix ZPA 0.5 is handling subwoofer duties.

Enclosures consist of the stock prowedge for the JL while the Morel and PG will each have their own 1.21 cu3 3/4" sealed MDF enclosure stuffed with polyfil.

The subwoofers will be mounted one at a time in the trunk of my 2007 Honda Accord. Tests will happen with the rear arm rest up and the arm rest in the down position, down lets more air in from the trunk.

Well those are the initial test parameters, more to follow shortly!

<CDA-9887*, Morel MT-23/Supremo 6, Soundstream Ref 414s, PG ZPA 0.5, Ultimo SC12> *P99rs coming soon

Last edited by oldskewl; 09-02-2011 at 05:59 AM..
oldskewl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2011   #2
DIYMA 500 Club

Default Re: IN MY CAR TEST: Jl 12w7 vs Morel Ultimo 12 SC vs Phoenix Gold Ti12d Elite!