MB Quart QSD 216 - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007   #1
DIYMA 500 Club

Rep Power: 159 hibuhibu will become famous soon enoughhibuhibu will become famous soon enoughhibuhibu will become famous soon enoughhibuhibu will become famous soon enoughhibuhibu will become famous soon enoughhibuhibu will become famous soon enough

Send a message via AIM to hibuhibu

Default MB Quart QSD 216

First of all, you can check out my install thread herehttps://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/...ad.php?t=19541

As you can see the system consists of
-Panasonic Head unit,
-RF360.2
-Infinity Reference 4ch Amplifier
-Alpine Mono MRP-M850
-DIYMA Reference 12"
-MB Quart QSD

As the title insists, the review will be on QSD 216 Components.
Let me first tell you guys that I am no expert by any means, and this review will be very subjective based on my limited experience. English is my second language as well, so please excuse my grammar and lack of vocabulary.

Tweeter
- I know there are several debate regarding the quality of MB Quart Tweeters.
But Let me say it here clearly, the Q Series tweeters are NOT harsh when used properly. This tweeter is by far the sweetest tweeter I have heard. However, these tweeters are only as good as the installer/tuner. Where you put these tweeters greatly influences how they sound.
Putting them On Axis as you would with soft dome tweeters? Big No No.
These tweeters need to be Mounted Far off axis. When installed correctly, these tweeters will give you the top end extension like no other. In terms of crossing them over, I have it crossed it over at 3.25k with 12db slope.