Boston Acoustics G5: The forgotten SQ subs? - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2009   #1
DIYMA 500 Club

Rep Power: 157 ealvar will become famous soon enoughealvar will become famous soon enoughealvar will become famous soon enoughealvar will become famous soon enoughealvar will become famous soon enoughealvar will become famous soon enough

Default Boston Acoustics G5: The forgotten SQ subs?

So, I've been dabbling in car audio for the last 15 years or so and have plenty of experience with a variety of brands. Started with a single JL Audio 10W1, bumped up to a pair of 10W6s, then an Adire Brahma (1st gen), followed by various other brands before settling for a long trend of using only Image Dynamics ID & IDQ series.

Recently I decided to trim down my system and go small, with a single Boston Acoustics GT-40 powering a set of Image Dynamics CXS64 (v1) and an Elemental Designs SQ10 in a stealth installation.

Elemental Designs rates the SQ10 with a power handling of 350w RMS. I think eD was being a bit optimistic. At 240w, and being responsible with the gains the SQ10 would bottom out. I'd say 200w is a safe place for the SQ10 to be and I'd advise a high pass crossover point around 38Hz as it really struggles with anything below that. This was in the proscribed 0.3ft^3 sealed enclosure.

The stealth install looked good and it was nice to have some rear hatch space again for grocery runs but I was underwhelmed by the sound quality and output of the SQ10 so I decided to look at other options. Don't get me wrong, at moderate volumes the SQ10 was fine. Anything close to 'loud' really put the SQ10 to shame.