2015 Ram sport crew cab - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2019   #1
 
Newbie
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 61

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 84 ocsoswat will become famous soon enoughocsoswat will become famous soon enoughocsoswat will become famous soon enoughocsoswat will become famous soon enoughocsoswat will become famous soon enoughocsoswat will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Hey guys.

I see a bunch of Ram threads so I got a lot of information off of them.. Just wanna throw some stuff out there for suggestions / recommendations ..

I love the 3 speaker dash.. it's an awesome sound stage..

So I'm working with the 9 speaker plus sub Alpine system I want to keep the factory source.

So Pac Audio and a dsp.

Has anyone ever run the Hybrid Audio Legatia 3se in the front? I'm not sure it will fit. It's a 3.7 inch speaker and the mount is a 3.5 inch.

If that's a no go I was looking at AudioFrog GB25 2.5inch.

Also... I don't want to cut anything on the truck so tweeter location ... not sure what shops around me do sail panels or will the Audiofrog tweet possibly mount int he same location in the corners with the GB25.

The doors are all 6x9. Anyone have any experience using a 6.5 adapter? I just am not a fan of the 6x9 speaker design though I hear the audiofrog's drop in. With that being said.. anyone have experience with the AF 6x9 coax? otherwise I would use the adapter for the 6.5 and mouth the tweet some damn where.

And this brings me to active vs passive.

If I went active I would need 9 channels plus a mono for the sub?

What amps? I don't have mass cash on hand but I'd space the purchases out just to get something decent. I'd love some Audison but I can't go that steep if I'm doing 9 channels on active. Maybe some zapco?

Any input would be welcomed!
ocsoswat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2019   #2
 
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San jose, ca
Posts: 1,280

Thanks: 42
Thanked 168 Times in 151 Posts
Rep Power: 97 ToNasty will become famous soon enoughToNasty will become famous soon enoughToNasty will become famous soon enoughToNasty will become famous soon enoughToNasty will become famous soon enoughToNasty will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (9)



Default

Hybrid so makes an L2se
ToNasty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2019   #3
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 375

Thanks: 54
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 182 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

I have the exact same truck with three way front (no center channel), rear coax and sub. Everything is running active with the factory head unit -> PAC -> Toslink -> Mosconi 8to12 Aerospace-> four amps.

My installer fit Dyn Esotar 430s in the dash corners. You might be able to fit something larger. The RAM doors can fit high quality 6.5” like the GB60. You could also go to a shallow 8” like the Audio Development W800 NEO. Tweeters in the sail panels work great and are a pretty easy install.

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-20-2019   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Woodbury MN
Posts: 660

Thanks: 61
Thanked 142 Times in 124 Posts
Rep Power: 123 rob3980 will become famous soon enoughrob3980 will become famous soon enoughrob3980 will become famous soon enoughrob3980 will become famous soon enoughrob3980 will become famous soon enoughrob3980 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (22)



Default

I have a sweet set of Hertz Mille 3 ways and they are the old school ones that are better than the current model. Go 3 way over a 2 way you won’t regret it. If you do stay 2 way you could go Audiofrog gb15 and Gb60 i love my milles and gbs

I’m buying a 19 ram next week and doing 3 way front stage active with 2 way active center channel and rear fill with 2 jl tw5s
rob3980 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to rob3980 For This Useful Post:
RVA_LVER (2 Weeks Ago)
Old 02-22-2019   #5
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 882

Thanks: 45
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 117 Black Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomT View Post
I have the exact same truck with three way front (no center channel), rear coax and sub. Everything is running active with the factory head unit -> PAC -> Toslink -> Mosconi 8to12 Aerospace-> four amps.

My installer fit Dyn Esotar 430s in the dash corners. You might be able to fit something larger. The RAM doors can fit high quality 6.5” like the GB60. You could also go to a shallow 8” like the Audio Development W800 NEO. Tweeters in the sail panels work great and are a pretty easy install.
Do you have any pics or a build log of your truck so we can see how you made it all work together?

2013 Dodge Ram (under construction)
Black Rain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2019   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 375

Thanks: 54
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 182 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Not really, all the speakers are in stock locations except the tweeters. The PAC is up front beneath the center console and everything else is mounted on the back wall.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 83F0E2F4-4E22-41BB-AC4D-FA6737629A8A.jpeg (1,010.7 KB, 27 views)

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2019   #7
 
Newbie
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 74


Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 18 EmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Which PAC module is everyone using. I was originally taking the signal from the headunit before the amplifier and using a Bit Ten to de-eq and sum the signals then send that to my amplifiers.

This was done in my 2012 before the PAC units were available.
EmoJackson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2019   #8
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 375

Thanks: 54
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 182 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmoJackson View Post
Which PAC module is everyone using. I was originally taking the signal from the headunit before the amplifier and using a Bit Ten to de-eq and sum the signals then send that to my amplifiers.

This was done in my 2012 before the PAC units were available.
I did the exact same thing with a Bit One added after the factory amp. Took us a while to work the bugs out of that setup. A year or so later the PAC was released and I had the entire system redone (went fully active plus upgrading everything). It was a snap since we went Toslink from the PAC to the new Mosconi.

This is the unit we used in my Ram.
AmpPRO 4 CH41

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to TomT For This Useful Post:
EmoJackson (02-24-2019)
Old 02-24-2019   #9
 
Newbie
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 74


Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 18 EmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enoughEmoJackson will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomT View Post
I did the exact same thing with a Bit One added after the factory amp. Took us a while to work the bugs out of that setup. A year or so later the PAC was released and I had the entire system redone (went fully active plus upgrading everything). It was a snap since we went Toslink from the PAC to the new Mosconi.

This is the unit we used in my Ram.
AmpPRO 4 CH41
Thank you,

Is there any advantage adding this piece vs using the summing function of the DSP? I can't possibly see one.
EmoJackson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2019   #10
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 375

Thanks: 54
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 182 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmoJackson View Post
Thank you,

Is there any advantage adding this piece vs using the summing function of the DSP? I can't possibly see one.
There definitely is with the Alpine system. The PAC will just make it dead simple where getting a nice signal with the DSP’s summing can be a huge pain in the ass.

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to TomT For This Useful Post:
Black Rain (3 Weeks Ago)
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #11
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 882

Thanks: 45
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 117 Black Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

What would the benefits of using the PAC if you didn't have the Alpine system? Is there an easier or better way?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

2013 Dodge Ram (under construction)
Black Rain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #12
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 882

Thanks: 45
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 117 Black Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enoughBlack Rain will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomT View Post
I have the exact same truck with three way front (no center channel), rear coax and sub. Everything is running active with the factory head unit -> PAC -> Toslink -> Mosconi 8to12 Aerospace-> four amps.

My installer fit Dyn Esotar 430s in the dash corners. You might be able to fit something larger. The RAM doors can fit high quality 6.5” like the GB60. You could also go to a shallow 8” like the Audio Development W800 NEO. Tweeters in the sail panels work great and are a pretty easy install.
TomT, do you have any pics of the W800 Neo in the doors. I have never seen anyone use any type of 8" without having to cut the 6x mounting.

2013 Dodge Ram (under construction)
Black Rain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #13
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 375

Thanks: 54
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 182 TomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enoughTomT will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rain View Post
TomT, do you have any pics of the W800 Neo in the doors. I have never seen anyone use any type of 8" without having to cut the 6x mounting.
I was just suggesting them as I had heard others used them successfully. I have the Audio Development ESA Bass 6.5s in my doors.

As far as having to make the factory hole a little bigger, I would have no problem with that.

"Buy Once, Cry Once. Then enjoy it for a long time!!!"
TomT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to TomT For This Useful Post:
Black Rain (2 Weeks Ago)
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #14
 
saltyone's Avatar
 
Newbie
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Louisiana (deep in the freaking swamp)
Posts: 245

Thanks: 8
Thanked 70 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 14 saltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomT View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmoJackson View Post
Which PAC module is everyone using. I was originally taking the signal from the headunit before the amplifier and using a Bit Ten to de-eq and sum the signals then send that to my amplifiers.

This was done in my 2012 before the PAC units were available.
I did the exact same thing with a Bit One added after the factory amp. Took us a while to work the bugs out of that setup. A year or so later the PAC was released and I had the entire system redone (went fully active plus upgrading everything). It was a snap since we went Toslink from the PAC to the new Mosconi.

This is the unit we used in my Ram.
AmpPRO 4 CH41
That’s the correct one.

saltyone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #15
 
saltyone's Avatar
 
Newbie
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Louisiana (deep in the freaking swamp)
Posts: 245

Thanks: 8
Thanked 70 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 14 saltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enoughsaltyone will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rain View Post
What would the benefits of using the PAC if you didn't have the Alpine system? Is there an easier or better way?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
The PAC is the best option by far with or without the alpine system. Hands down...no question.

Benefits are ease of install and ability to use toslink to DSP if the processor has optical in.

saltyone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to saltyone For This Useful Post:
Black Rain (2 Weeks Ago)
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #16
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Newbie
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hotlanta
Posts: 74

Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 103 Blorton will become famous soon enoughBlorton will become famous soon enoughBlorton will become famous soon enoughBlorton will become famous soon enoughBlorton will become famous soon enoughBlorton will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (3)



Default Re: 2015 Ram sport crew cab

Quick question - where is a good place to buy Audio Development drivers in the USA?
Blorton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Blorton For This Useful Post:
Black Rain (2 Weeks Ago)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 Colorado Crew Cab, SQ please! yeldak99 Build Logs & Project Install Gallery 27 09-26-2016 05:17 PM
2012 Ram crew cab sport build... bradknob Build Logs & Project Install Gallery 253 08-25-2015 11:03 AM
2012 Ram quad cab sport, First sq build, budget friendly. skippytech Build Logs & Project Install Gallery 80 05-10-2015 09:21 PM
Picking up a 2015 Nissan Titan Crew Cab. Coppertone System Design - Help Me Choose Equipment For My Car 5 03-01-2015 10:36 PM
2015 F350 Crew Cab F350Powerstroke System Design - Help Me Choose Equipment For My Car 10 10-13-2014 03:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy