Anyone with Gen 3 Mazda6 experience, feel free to step in... - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #1

Rep Power: 0 Mike2.5T will become famous soon enoughMike2.5T will become famous soon enoughMike2.5T will become famous soon enoughMike2.5T will become famous soon enoughMike2.5T will become famous soon enoughMike2.5T will become famous soon enough

Default Anyone with Gen 3 Mazda6 experience, feel free to step in...

Hi all, new member. If you stumbled across my post in the new member area, you already saw that I have some background in car audio but it's been a while back.

So, I have a 2018 Mazda 6 Grand Touring Reserve with the Bose Centerpoint 11 speaker system. Here's what I know about the system so far:
  • 2 directional tweeters by the mirrors
  • 2 2-3/4" mids (not confirmed, but have read that Mazda switched to 2.75" from 3.5" mids in 2018) in the dash corners, center speaker in dash as well
  • 6.5" mid-bass/subs in the doors (size unconfirmed, have read that they may be 8"), same in rear doors
  • 2 2-3/4" or 3.5" in rear deck
  • Amp under passenger seat. Not sure if h/u is full-range speaker-level or low-level output, as I haven't been able to confirm either. I guess that makes a difference in component selection.

It's not a bad system at all, and there are quite a few things that I like about it. It's certainly better than most GM and Nissan Bose systems that I remember from doing audio professionally years ago.

The staging isn't bad, the mid-bass is acceptable with the windows up or slightly cracked even at highway speeds. The sound overall is fairly flat and pretty balanced, which surprised me with the mid-range speakers firing straight into windshield. I don't notice much frequency cancellation in the front stage, but I'm sure a meter would tell otherwise.

With that out of the way, there are some things that I dislike and would love to remedy: