Wacky question: faking sub box volume - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #1
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 jcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Sometimes to do a clean install it would be nice to get big bass in a smaller space! I have never heard of any of this being done so I wanted to pose a few strange ideas and see what people think, or know about it!

1) Remote volume
Build a box just large enough to house the speaker, then use a fairly rigid tube to connect the air space to a remote resivior that has the volume needed to allow the sub to have the correct compressability to make the sub work as designed. I imaging that the surface area of the extension tube would be pretty important here.

2) Mimicking the air volume with a smaller flexible enclosure
Build a box just large enough to house the speaker, then mount a diaphragm of some sort that could be tuned via spring tension to flex/compress like the appropriate air volume would do. On the outside of this moving part, it would be shaped to be an extremely inefficient radiator so that it doesn't produce sound waves that interfere with the speaker.

Probably both totally nuts with a lot more problems than I considered. But hey, you guys here probably have tons more experience with the theory of operation for subwoofer enclosures than I do!

James
jcush87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #2
 
Newbie
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 81


Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 6 Zardnok will become famous soon enoughZardnok will become famous soon enoughZardnok will become famous soon enoughZardnok will become famous soon enoughZardnok will become famous soon enoughZardnok will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Sounds like you need to read up on aperiodic membranes.

AP Enclosures-The Aperiodic Cookbook | Tutorials | Team Audionutz
Zardnok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #3
Upgrade Your Membership!
 
Theslaking's Avatar
 
Listener of Music
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 2,533

Thanks: 27
Thanked 248 Times in 206 Posts
Rep Power: 97 Theslaking will become famous soon enoughTheslaking will become famous soon enoughTheslaking will become famous soon enoughTheslaking will become famous soon enoughTheslaking will become famous soon enoughTheslaking will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (18)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Using a tube to a remote location is fine. It just has to be big enough that it doesn't act like a port inside the box.

The other idea just sounds like a passive radiator.

Just because I have 2000+ posts doesn't mean I have learned anything.
Theslaking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: East Midlands, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 282

12V Company:
Nottinghamshire Police
Position:
Auto electrician/Fabricator

Thanks: 46
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Rep Power: 154 dumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theslaking View Post
Using a tube to a remote location is fine. It just has to be big enough that it doesn't act like a port inside the box.

The other idea just sounds like a passive radiator.
I would think if you modelled the connecting tube as a port for the small enclosure volume and made sure it tuned to higher than the usable range you wanted the sub to play the ‘port’ would just unload and not act as a port
dumdum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #5
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 856

Thanks: 13
Thanked 90 Times in 82 Posts
Rep Power: 29 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
I would think if you modelled the connecting tube as a port for the small enclosure volume and made sure it tuned to higher than the usable range you wanted the sub to play the ‘port’ would just unload and not act as a port
Good thinking there, a nice way to determine minimum pipe diameter.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: East Midlands, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 282

12V Company:
Nottinghamshire Police
Position:
Auto electrician/Fabricator

Thanks: 46
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Rep Power: 154 dumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enoughdumdum will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
Good thinking there, a nice way to determine minimum pipe diameter.
The only caveat I can think of is the extra chamber a conventional port plays into normally is huge like a cars cabin, so a smaller volume of air may have a negative effect on the ‘tuning’ of the ‘not a port’ if you see what I mean, kind of like when doing spl walls the cabins tuning effects results and tuning more so than a street 2cu ft box if you see what I mean...

Ideally I’d want to use the sd of the driver, but appreciate it may not be so ideal and may not fit so well... for example a ten would ideally need an eight inch tube I’d guess...
dumdum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #7
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 856

Thanks: 13
Thanked 90 Times in 82 Posts
Rep Power: 29 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
The only caveat I can think of is the extra chamber a conventional port plays into normally is huge like a cars cabin, so a smaller volume of air may have a negative effect on the ‘tuning’ of the ‘not a port’ if you see what I mean, kind of like when doing spl walls the cabins tuning effects results and tuning more so than a street 2cu ft box if you see what I mean...



Ideally I’d want to use the sd of the driver, but appreciate it may not be so ideal and may not fit so well... for example a ten would ideally need an eight inch tube I’d guess...
Yep, gonna have to be a big pipe. But I don't see much of a problem with the idea itself.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #8
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 856

Thanks: 13
Thanked 90 Times in 82 Posts
Rep Power: 29 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

I think Zardnok really hit it with aperiodic membranes.
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #9
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 341

Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 52 Focused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
The only caveat I can think of is the extra chamber a conventional port plays into normally is huge like a cars cabin, so a smaller volume of air may have a negative effect on the ‘tuning’ of the ‘not a port’ if you see what I mean, kind of like when doing spl walls the cabins tuning effects results and tuning more so than a street 2cu ft box if you see what I mean...

Ideally I’d want to use the sd of the driver, but appreciate it may not be so ideal and may not fit so well... for example a ten would ideally need an eight inch tube I’d guess...
You don't have to guess, you can actually model this sort of thing in Hornresp.
Focused4door is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #10
 
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 341

Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 52 Focused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enoughFocused4door will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckirocz28 View Post
I think Zardnok really hit it with aperiodic membranes.

Pretty much this, but if you have enough EQ, a lot of excursion and a lot of power you can seriously undersize a sealed box. People will debate if you can hear the difference between a high Q box and a "nomal" box, but pretty easy to try out since you can just add scrap wood to a regular sealed box to try it quickly.

Winisd will let you know how much excursion and power you need for your desired listening level.
Focused4door is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #11
 
ckirocz28's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 856

Thanks: 13
Thanked 90 Times in 82 Posts
Rep Power: 29 ckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enoughckirocz28 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Wacky question: faking sub box volume

If you don't have enough space for a properly sized box, where the hell are you gonna put this huge pipe?
ckirocz28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 3 Weeks Ago   #12
 
Newbie
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 jcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enoughjcush87 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (0)



Default

Thanks for the info guys! That aperiodic membrane sounds really cool. It's like having the tube to another box, but without the second box!
jcush87 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub volume vs box volume question. Dakotademon7 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 6 02-26-2014 08:03 AM
Faking dumb is very hard to do... Ultimateherts Off Topic 15 09-27-2013 04:51 PM
wacky group delay/spl graphs humandrummachine Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 2 05-05-2013 07:50 PM
Them wacky Koreans Hi-FiDelity Off Topic 9 04-08-2013 02:59 AM
Wacky ideas 87DXHatch Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 1 07-13-2005 02:41 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy