Why is my amp going into "protect" mode? - Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2006   #1
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 585

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 180 Sephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

I have a DLS A5 amplifier and got it installed yesterday. I'm not happy with the output on the subwoofer channel. The amp is rated 780 watts @ 1 ohm and it's nowhere near as the output of my Directed amp that does 600 watts @ 1 ohm. What gives?

So whenever I turn the volume up a bit, the amp goes into protect mode. Does anyone know why it would do that?

Formerly sephiroth619 - Capitalized 12.31.07
Sephiroth619 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2006   #2
DIYMA 500 Club
 
legend94's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Age: 38
Posts: 2,909

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 200 legend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the rough


iTrader: (96)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sephiroth619
I have a DLS A5 amplifier and got it installed yesterday. I'm not happy with the output on the subwoofer channel. The amp is rated 780 watts @ 1 ohm and it's nowhere near as the output of my Directed amp that does 600 watts @ 1 ohm. What gives?

So whenever I turn the volume up a bit, the amp goes into protect mode. Does anyone know why it would do that?
I cant comment on the problem, but I will say that I was very impressed with the power of my friends Directed amp that was rated at 600x1.

Alpine 164--Alpine V9--ScanSpeak D3004--Alpine SPX-17Pro--(2)DIYMA12
legend94 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #3
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,892


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 zfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished road


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

we need more info... type of sub. type of box etc... give some details

saw this and had to put it here:
you cant polish a turd, but you can always chrome it! -Nasser Abo Abdo, president of audiobahn

--with enough hot glue you can install anything"
zfactor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-07-2006   #4
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 585

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 180 Sephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Think I figured it out.

On DLS's website, it states that the amp is 1 ohm stable. On the manual, it states "DLS A5 mono channel is 1.33 ohm stable." Even then they recommend/require an external fan.

Basically, I ran my subs down to one ohm, when I turned the volume up a bit, the amp went into protect mode. I disconnected one sub and am now running the one sub at 2 ohms. It's stable but less output.

Sucks.

Formerly sephiroth619 - Capitalized 12.31.07
Sephiroth619 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #5
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,892


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 zfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished road


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

it should not have cut out like that though a 1ohm... if anything it would have got super hot before shutting down

saw this and had to put it here:
you cant polish a turd, but you can always chrome it! -Nasser Abo Abdo, president of audiobahn

--with enough hot glue you can install anything"
zfactor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #6
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 585

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 180 Sephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Well, I spoke to Eng (Dualsomething) and he recommended that I lower the gain on my components and keep the gain at 3.5v-4v on teh subwoofer channel. I'm going to try it out, it sounds very promising. Because my components are really LOUD!! and the subwoofer channel isn't keeping up.

As many people that I've chatted to have already mentioned, it's more of a tuning problem than the amp itself.

Formerly sephiroth619 - Capitalized 12.31.07
Sephiroth619 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #7
DIYMA 500 Club
 
legend94's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Age: 38
Posts: 2,909

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 200 legend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the roughlegend94 is a jewel in the rough


iTrader: (96)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zfactor
it should not have cut out like that though a 1ohm... if anything it would have got super hot before shutting down

i dont know as much as zfactor, but from experience that has happened to me before.....but ive never used dls amps, so maybe they are smarter than other amps

Alpine 164--Alpine V9--ScanSpeak D3004--Alpine SPX-17Pro--(2)DIYMA12
legend94 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #8
DIYMA 500 Club
 
dual700's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,039

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 dual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enough

Send a message via AIM to dual700

iTrader: (17)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sephiroth619
Well, I spoke to Eng (Dualsomething) and he recommended that I lower the gain on my components and keep the gain at 3.5v-4v on teh subwoofer channel. I'm going to try it out, it sounds very promising. Because my components are really LOUD!! and the subwoofer channel isn't keeping up.

As many people that I've chatted to have already mentioned, it's more of a tuning problem than the amp itself.
LOL!
Yeah, A5 shares the sub power with front channels, FYI. If you run front channels to 2 ohm, the power going to sub channel will decrease...
I had my A4 powering midrange and midbass, a5 tweeters and 3 lotus sub.
I break 140 np...

So, what's your finding?

Npdang is a sexy mofo
dual700 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2006   #9
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 585

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 180 Sephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

^So far, better results in terms of loudness with the sub. The component gain is set at dead minimum and its still relatively loud, which is a good thing. Now the subs are able to keep up. I still only have one sub hooked up, at 2 ohms. I'm going to hook up the pair tomorrow morning.

Formerly sephiroth619 - Capitalized 12.31.07
Sephiroth619 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #10
DIYMA 500 Club
 
dual700's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,039

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 dual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enough

Send a message via AIM to dual700

iTrader: (17)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Oh yeah, just making sure, the sub channels' crossover is set properly at the amp, right? I set mine at 125 hz LP (non defeatable) and my H701 at 80 hz..

Npdang is a sexy mofo
dual700 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #11
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 585

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 180 Sephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enoughSephiroth619 will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (2)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

The amp is set at 50hz, and crossover on the headunit at 50hz as well.

Formerly sephiroth619 - Capitalized 12.31.07
Sephiroth619 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #12
DIYMA 500 Club
 
solacedagony's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Age: 35
Posts: 1,220

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 176 solacedagony will become famous soon enoughsolacedagony will become famous soon enoughsolacedagony will become famous soon enoughsolacedagony will become famous soon enoughsolacedagony will become famous soon enoughsolacedagony will become famous soon enough

Send a message via ICQ to solacedagony Send a message via AIM to solacedagony Send a message via MSN to solacedagony

iTrader: (1)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Remember that the two crossover slopes are going to add together for a steeper slope.
solacedagony is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #13
DIYMA 500 Club
 
dual700's Avatar
 
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,039

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 dual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enoughdual700 will become famous soon enough

Send a message via AIM to dual700

iTrader: (17)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

I'd turn off the crossover on the HU.

Npdang is a sexy mofo
dual700 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #14
DIYMA 500 Club
 
chad's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17,149

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 946 chad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (10)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

I think running an amp at one ohm is crazy, that's damn near a dead short.

Chad




Quote:
Originally Posted by bikinpunk View Post
Mark's an up late kinda dude. His neighbor has a horse.
chad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #15
DIYMA 500 Club
 
Newbie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago
Age: 41
Posts: 93

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 158 nadaclue will become famous soon enoughnadaclue will become famous soon enoughnadaclue will become famous soon enoughnadaclue will become famous soon enoughnadaclue will become famous soon enoughnadaclue will become famous soon enough


iTrader: (1)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chad
I think running an amp at one ohm is crazy, that's damn near a dead short.

Chad

I knew guys in the 90's that ran Adcom amps at 1/4 ohm all day long. Now that's crazy.
nadaclue is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #16
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,892


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 zfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished road


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

we have run customers a5's at 1ohm with no problems.. they do get hot though... if you are running the front at 2 ohms it could i guess pose a bit more of a issue but still the amp shouldnt just clip out... if it was the heat it would take a bit of time before it shut down

saw this and had to put it here:
you cant polish a turd, but you can always chrome it! -Nasser Abo Abdo, president of audiobahn

--with enough hot glue you can install anything"
zfactor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006   #17
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,892


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 188 zfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished roadzfactor is on a distinguished road


iTrader: (0)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

btw have you checked the setup for clipped signals?? any chance of gtting a o-scop on there to make sure they are set right??

saw this and had to put it here:
you cant polish a turd, but you can always chrome it! -Nasser Abo Abdo, president of audiobahn

--with enough hot glue you can install anything"
zfactor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2006   #18
DIYMA 500 Club
 
chad's Avatar
 
Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17,149

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 946 chad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond reputechad has a reputation beyond repute


iTrader: (10)



Default Re: Why is my amp going into "protect" mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zfactor
btw have you checked the setup for clipped signals?? any chance of gtting a o-scop on there to make sure they are set right??

That's tough to do with music. It can be done with a signal generator but remember that a sine wave is not music and has no crest factor. Doing it with a signal generator and an O-Scope will undersell yourself on possible gain.

There was a gizmo called a clip cop that could be built as a kit that consisted of a Piezo element listening for the harmonics of clipping. Never tried it with music but I imagine it would be way easier than trying to catch a clipped signal from music on a scope. It can also be done with a digital storage scope and a pulse generator so that you can adjust the crest factor scenario.

Chad




Quote:
Originally Posted by bikinpunk View Post
Mark's an up late kinda dude. His neighbor has a horse.
chad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio | DiyMobileAudio.com | Car Stereo Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First name
Last name
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Do you work in the 12 Volt industry?
Youtube Channel
Enter Your Youtube Username, And It will Be Linked To In Your Posts!
12V Industry - Company Name
Your company name.
12V Industry - Your Position
Your position in your company.

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
locked eca amp thread npdang Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 192 11-06-2007 01:50 PM
What could be causing right amp channels to shut off? I'm stumped. Ludemandan Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 2 08-18-2006 09:40 AM
System not as loud as expected... am I doing something wrong? Lawnboy360 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 17 11-26-2005 09:17 PM
TRU T03, Phoenix Gold amp, Bos Acoustics, Xbox wireless controllers, underseat dvd rcantu Car Audio Classifieds 3 10-26-2005 12:11 AM
Setting up a tweeter amp with input sensitivity too high for HU... Lawnboy360 Technical & Advanced Car Audio Discussion 2 10-17-2005 08:19 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Ad Management by RedTyger

Home | User CP | Members List | New Posts | ITrader | Faq | Post Spy