DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. Complete noob to car audio, but I can build desktops (don't know if that will help at all.) Anywho, as a noob, I am looking for advice on a full system setup, such as where to start. As long as the total price tag is under $1,500, I'm ready to go. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
977 Posts
What do you plan to achieve here? Tons of bass? Just clear sound? What kind of music do you listen to? Another important thing to know would be your installation abilities. Will you be doing the install yourself or have a shop do it for you?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quality is my #1 goal. I listen to rock, metal, talk radio, classical, rap/hip-hop, trance and hardstyle on a regular basis. I desire hearing every sound in every song cleanly. No sounds louder than others, but all capable of getting loud. I'm open to doing it myself, but I would have to learn a lot of things (which I'm very open to.) I will go to a shop if necessary.

·
Registered
680 Posts
I'd recommend DIY personally. Saves lots of money and its always good to learn. Plus, a dedicated DIYer can definitely do a better job than a installer that has a list of appointments to take care of. Trust me on that one.

How much space are you willing to lose? As I recall, there's not really anywhere to put a stealth enclosure, so you'd pretty much have to put it behind the front seats.

That said, this is what I would recommend.

Front stage: Relatively high end speakers ($200-300 range)
No rear speakers
Single 10 or 12 in a reasonably sized sealed or ported enclosure (depends on listening habits and the sub itself)
Amps: A mono for the sub, and a 2 or 4ch for the fronts (if a 4ch run active or bridges - more on that later)