DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A short introduction.
Im new to the forum, been lurking awhile...not new to car audio.
I worked in the industry for about 15 years (installer) but got out of it back in 2000.
Competed and judged IASCA back when it was the main player in the comp circuit...even placed finals a few times and had some involvement with the mags...
I'd imagine I've crossed paths with some of you "old timers"... :)

Anyway,
This system is destined for my daily driver, a red 2006 F150 xlt supercab short bed 4x4
The goal with the system is a reasonable cost, semi custom install and a good listening system with decent accuracy.
Most items are being purchased used to control final cost but fulfill my needs.
Not looking to compete again but,once you do, there are certain levels of performance you demand...system will be full active
Here's the list as it stands for now:
Alpine IVA W200
Aline PXA H701
ARC 900.6 (front stage amp)
MMATS 500.2 (sub amp)
ADS PX tweeters
Some generic 2" wide range mids
ID OEM V1 6.5 midbass
JL Audio 8w3v3 (2)
Misc install stuff (sound deadened, wire etc...)

The install will be done in steps...
Some things will be done then undone to keep the truck drivable and listenable while in process.
The initial plan is subs under the back seat, midbass in the doors, midrange in the dash, tweeters in the pillars amps and procebehind the rear seat back Plans to change as needed. :)
how about some pics:

Midbass, door install. Sound deadening will be done later...im also going to remake the baffle out of better wood and properly seal the door after I decide if they'll stay in the doors.

I had to remove some of the panel to clear the 3/4" baffle.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The mystery 2" mid for the dash came out of a BMW x5.
I Have no idea what it is, what it's response is or what it'll sound like...I just like the grills.