DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for Opinions on 10" Midbass drivers for my truck project. I am hoping to get some insightful feedback, not recommendations based solely on the highest price. Below is some extensive info to paint a scenario they will be in. In my particular application, the most expensive woofers may not be the best choice for reasons I am not experienced with.

Anyways on to the choices:

Dynaudio MW182
Illusion Audio Carbon C10
Satori WO2P-4
ScanSpeak Revelator 10'' 26W/4867T00

Some background info to better understand the scenario:

Stage-
The midbass drivers will be in a 3 way front stage along with with Audiofrog GB15 tweeters in a-pillars, and Audiofrog GB40 midrange in kick panels. Subwoofers will be 2 Image Dynamics IDMAX woofers on between 800 and 1000w each.
(The kick panels are custom and 3.5" deep, so it's possible for the mids to be totally on axis. The tweeters can be on axis but not to the degree that the mids are.)

Power -
The tweeters and mids will share a Zapco 4ch amp with 100w a piece.
The midbass drivers will be on another Zapco 4ch amp, bridged. The model of amp is yet to be determined. Once I decide on drivers I will know what my power needs will be. For instance, the Dynaudios are power hungry, so 300w or more will be needed for them.

Application-
The truck they are going in has some custom fiberglass door panels made (solid fiberglass shell, pulled from a mold) that are 3.5'' deep.
The doors themselves have 3.5" of depth to the window regulators. So in all, I have 7" of depth up to about 14", then the door panels get narrower as they get to the window.
I calculated a possible 1.0 cubic foot enclosure can be added.
If I do run a sealed enclosure, it would be made of multiple layers of fiberglass mat, possibly some BB's laminated in, and layers of deadening material to make it as solid as can be.