DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

So quick back story. I'm 20, and missed out on the old school years of car audio. I am avid into vintage hi-fi home stereos, but I'm pretty new to good car audio. I'm currently working on my first car stereo, and I'm going old school on it. The new school stuff just doesn't make it for me. Like I do with the home stereos, I find the creativity and quality associated with the vintage equipment much more appealing. I'm putting it in my 1984 Mercedes 300D. I wish so bad that I had the resources to do a crazy build on it, but unfortunately I have to try and keep it simple and basic for now, and I have to allow the car to remain functional. I have a thread in the build advice section, so I'm not just coming here to look for that.

What I'm more looking for is some people with some knowledge/experience with the older equipment I want to use and get some general advice. I also want to find out if my goals that I kind of dreamed up with no real knowledge of car stereo. I would love to be able to hit 130db. It seems for certain set ups, that's nothing. But from the home stereo, I know it's not just nothing to make a 130db system.

I have to keep my subwoofers in the trunk, and the only access between my trunk and and interior is a port that I could create with the hole in the deck for the factory First Aid kit. I have yet to determine if that would even be worth it or useful, but that's for discussion in another thread. Anyway, I'll be working with 2 MTX 12" Blue Thunder subwoofers. They are the version with the black cone and the dust cap that looks dented. I believe the ones I've bought are 4ohms each. I want to run these with a Soundstream Reference 2.640 which should allow me to wire them at 2ohms, and get 320(ish) watts to them. I believe I will be using them in a ported enclosure, but that has yet to be fully determined.