DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Long time lurker. Planing my build for 14 Silverado crew cab . I have read the other build logs. Have read many of the build logs - makes my head spin -all the information - thank you

Looking to install 2 way w single 10 under rear seat.

GS690 -front doors
GB15 - factory dash location
SD3 10
Alpine PDX-v9- open to other suggestions .

Still trying to choose pre-fab box? - any recommendations

DSP ? Leaning towards helix - considering used dsp.2 or would helix dsp mini be ok - after reading up on the "chime" issue I think I would need to eq the input to tame the chimes. I am new to DSP so want something "user friendly "

I am open to any and all suggestions as I am still in the planning stage .

·
Registered
253 Posts
Sounds like you’re planning to use really nice equipment. I’m not familiar with the Helix DSP but it seems to be popular on this board. I’m using the JL Audio FiX 82 and TwK D8. I’ve been extremely pleased with both.

I can HIGHLY recommend the Fox Acoustics boxes. I run a single Alpine R-Series 12 under my rear passenger seat (Ram Crew). It’s vented to the driver’s side and I believe tuned to 34 hertz. It sounds amazing. It set me back about $170. It perfectly blends with my mids and images beautifully with help from the DSP. I have close to 1,000 watts on it. The build quality is excellent and I couldn’t be happier. I almost spent five times as much on a custom enclosure. I’ve heard the same custom enclosure in another Ram with a JL TW3 ran off a JL RD900. The other Ram has the exact same processing that I have and is also equally sound deadened. My truck sounds light years better. Of course, this is just my opinion...for what it’s worth.

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
1,464 Posts
Make sire you get a dsp with input gain or some sort of other factory integration module or you'll have loud chimes and blinkers

·
Registered
2 Posts