DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 177 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I haven’t upgraded an audio system in a car I’ve owned since 2003. I was pretty heavy into car audio in the mid-’90’s when I acquired my first car at 17 years old and that lasted into my early 20’s, but after I graduated college, I joined the military, got busy, got married, had kids… (four of them). You know how it goes or maybe you don’t and if you don’t, take advantage of it! 😂

Three months ago, I bought a ‘17 Subaru WRX without HK audio and the base factory audio system is absolutely horrible so I decided I wanted to upgrade it. The WRX is the third car and I was fortunate to find it with low mileage, so I plan on having it for quite a while and thus wanted to go with the “good stuff”.

This is a work in progress and I have several goals for this install: 1.) I wanted to buy all of the main components of the system out of the classifieds here or eBay. I went through that phase of my life where I wanted to buy everything brand new, but again, “married with four kids” so I can’t do that much anymore, especially on car audio. I bought the car used, so I figured I’d follow that same concept for this. There are great deals in the classifieds on great equipment. 2.) I want to keep it as stealthy as I can. 3.) I am capable of woodworking and moderate amounts of fabrication, but I don’t want to get too crazy with custom fabrication, LED’s, acrylic, fiberglass, etc. Not because I don’t appreciate that type of stuff. I’m usually in awe of some of the installs I see in here, but I just want to keep it simple. Maybe sometime down the road, I’ll do more – fab pillars or sail panels depending on how happy I am with the SQ, but for now, I will keep it fairly simple. 4.) I need trunk space, so a small, single sub enclosure is a must. 5.) I want to keep the OE head unit and all factory wiring intact in the event I want to go back to stock.