DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I've grown older I've decided I needed to pair down a bit, sell off some of my toys and get myself a nice grown up adult car.... I'm a brand whore through and through and I've had almost exclusively 3 series BMW's. Couple M3's, a 740iL (exwife kept) I sold everything but my 500hp 91 318iS racecar and bought this projects chassis at Copart auto auctions for $2100.

Its a 2001 525i 5spd, 150k miles, did I mention $2100? :D It was a theft recovery, but all the thieves took was the stock radio, display, amplifier, and cd changer. :laugh: hahahaha SUCKERS. All they did is save me work :cool: They were considerate removing the stock hardware, and did no collateral damage in the process.

Anyways I've been collecting bits of the new system for several months now, and after picking up the car a 3 weeks ago I decided to start filling in the missing pieces and purchase the last of the parts I needed to put a really sweet system in the newly acquired E39.

The system consists of the following:

Headunit: MX406
Aux Source: iPhone4 /w FLAC's
Amplifiers: MCC404M - MCC301M
Components: HAT L6SE, L3SE, L1PROR2
Subwoofer: JBL W15GTi MKII.

The stock "premium" sound system "subwoofers" are hung from the underside of the rear parcel shelf. They are a pair of 5.25" 8ohm drivers in a plastic bandpass box. While the engineering is impressive the sound is anything but...

Stock lolwoofers pictured on top of their replacement, housed in a 4 cubic foot box port tuned to 28hz.

Attachments

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #2