DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I’m fairly new to DIYMA and it has been 20years since my last install. The time has come to return quality sound into my life!

History
My first system was in 1983 with a Sherwood HU, Blaupunkt amps and Alpine speakers…in a 1971 Toyota Corona MrkII :wacky: I’ll spare you the progression of vehicles and systems since, but my last install was a 91 Toyota 4Runner with 2v SonyHU, unilink 10disc changer, Alpine 3555, MTX4320, Polk MM3065s (nice tweeters) in the kicks and a JL microbox with a pair of 8s.

The problem wasn’t the sound, but the vehicle. Great for 4wheelin, mountain biking, and camping…but not so much for a concrete jungle(moved to Chicago after building her out) commute…kinda like driving an empty school bus. :shame:

To improve the time spent commuting (hour each way), I sold the 4Runner and bought a 2004 BMW M3 :D

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Bmw Alloy wheel

The M came with the CD53 Business HU and Harman Kardon “sound system”. While surprisingly good image and reasonably clean sound, it simply does not provide the type of “dynamic sound” that you can connect with.

I’ve never been a thumper (trunk rattle-bzzt) fan, but do enjoy all kinds of music (blues, jazz, punk, rock, reggae, alternative, etc) full and “studio like”.

Mission:
• Achieve SQ that stimulates emotional response (improving my quality of life on my daily commute)
• Minimize weight gain (At 3400lbs & ~10lb/hp the M noticeably decreases in spirit with additional weight)
• Maintain as much of the minimal trunk space as possible
• Retain the factory head unit; keeping all of the factory steering wheel controls and a clean dash cluster.
• Stealth (maintain the simple but elegant appearance of the M….and yet similar bravado).​

System approach: