DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a new car but I'm installing a mix of new parts and stuff I took out of my old car when I sold it.

The plan is a similar 2-way active front stage plus single subwoofer, since I liked it so much in my old ride. I will be sticking with 2-way as I don't want to get into mounting drivers on the dash or doing kickpanels. There isn't room for this in a manual, and as a noob I like how much easier a 2-way is to install, set-up and tune. It doesn't need to get very loud but I do like headroom and I like to listen to old DnB once in a while. I'll be doing a false floor at a lower height than stock. Yeah. My WRX-S is EDM and they decided to put in a full-width spare. That is going to be replaced with a ported enclosure modeled after the one Chad has in his Civic Si. 0.7ft3, external port at 30hz. After that's in there the floor should be about 100mm lower than stock.
I like to have everything looking as factory as possible to deter theft, so the sub and 4ch amp will be hidden under a totally stock-looking false floor. The Pioneer looks pretty low-key as is, and the tweets down there on the factory kick panels will not attract much attention.
Maybe I will install a SWI-JACK later to keep the steering wheel controls. The Pioneer doesn't look so easy to control from the faceplate while on the move.

The equipment list:

In hand right now:

Zed Gladius. Love this little 2ch amp.
Phaze Audio MW-64 mids. I had them in my old GF body Impreza due to severe limits on door depth and liked them in that car. Now I have more space, I may swap these to something with more midbass authority. We will see.
LP 26NA tweets. Love them.
Dayton Reference 265HO sub.
Lots of wire.

Awaiting delivery:

Pioneer DEH-P800PRS. Nervous about the pico fuse issues but what else is out there these days?
Scosche dash kit. Damn Subaru and their stupid non-standard OE HU.

Still searching: