DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

This wants to be a journal of my install and also a place where to get help since i do this as a DIY project. Also note that it may be slow since I do have a day job and I'm doing this in my little spare time. This was also my first contact with fibre glass and resin so excuse my mistakes...

Equipment list - some it may find it familiar :)

- Hybrid Audio Legati L4 Carbon, L6 Carbon, L1 Pro R2 and Clarus C12
- Alpine PDX V9 x 2, one for each side
- Mobridge DA3

ps. equipment is second hand so it will have some dings and scratches here and there especially tweeters but read it below how i've improved.

Accessories:
- Bluesea SafetyHub 250
- Vandamme and Cordial cabling, 2.5mm all around
- CTK standard and Vibe Antivibe deadening materials

Before starting the build albums, please note this is my first time working with fibre glass, resin and stuff so... i maybe made mistakes.

A pillars and tweeters:

First I've sourced some "spare" pillars, made some rings from some sort of PVC aimed as good as I thought, used some pantyhose stretched over, apply resin, and two layers of fibre glass, filled inside with a milkshake of bondo and fibreglass and wrapped them in a "microfiber" some sort of alcantara fabric.

Tweeter marks fixing:

Since I've mentioned that the equipment is second hand, i fixed the tweets marks by wrapping in vinyl.

Trims Wrapping:
Since i've wrapped the A pillars in another color than the rest of the car... i though i should also wrap some trims to match it :)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Amp rack:

Tried to make everything as tidy as possible and separate power vs signal

Subwoofer box:

Molding, lots of resin, fibre glass and layers, vinyl wrapping, deadening, stuffing with mineral wool total weight including woofer 19kg.