DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Complete novice here. I'm not going to be installing any of this myself, but wanted advice about speaker placement, etc..

I've got an Avalon Hybrid XLE Premium with 9 speakers (stock) and stock headunit.

My primary goal is super clean sound. I don't prioritize extremely high volumes or bass that makes you see double, as I am old now lol.

According to another forum, these are the specs of the stock system:

Three 3" speakers in the dash
Front Doors have a 6.5" speaker in a 6x9 bracket running at 2ohms from the small amp under the driver's seat
Rear Doors have a 3" speaker in each door
Rear Shelf has two 6.5 speakers in a 6x9 bracket running at 2ohms from the small amp under the driver's seat
So all the small 3" speakers are powered off the head unit and the front door and rear shelf are ran from the amp
all the 3" speakers are 4ohm and the 6.5 are 2ohm.

So far, I plan to get:
Apple Carplay compatible head unit
Morel Virtus 6.5 components in front
A DSP/DSP amp combo of some sort to replace my existing stock amp
6x9 coax speakers in the rear

The rest is what I'm struggling with.

1. Can I mount the tweeters from the front components in the left and right dash speaker holes?
If so, do I disconnect the center speaker, or replace it and run it of a separate channel?

2. Do I need a subwoofer or will 6x9's in the rear suffice? By suffice, I don't mean "will it give me as much bass as a subwoofer? (no) " but rather, will using 6x9s as a primary source of bass muddle the sound clarity?

3. Should I even bother upgrading 3 inch speakers in the doors or running any extra power to them?
Should I disconnect them entirely?

4. What kind of amp/dsp should I get? I hear Helix is the best (price isn't really a concern), but would it be overkill for my needs?