DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last time I ran an RCA was back in high school, when I was using Alpine V12 amps and listening to Nate Dogg and Warren G. Never lost the bug, just hadn’t had the time or the car to invest in. Well a few weeks ago I picked up this beauty:

2015 S60 T6. Turbo AND supercharged 4-cylinder making around 300-hp. It’s a blast to drive and I’ve wanted one for a while. Now that I’ve got it, I’m going to keep it for a long time so think she deserves some decent sounds.

My goal for the stereo is to match the car...quality performance in a sleeper package. Hoping to keep a tasteful, factory look that will really surprise people when you turn it up.

I'm far from an expert in any of this, so it will certainly be a lot simpler than most of the installs here. That said, it will likely be a work in progress for a quite while as I balance other things.

This thread is an attempt to give back to this forum, which I’ve found invaluable over the last couple of months for product research and install ideas. It is also an attempt to document everything I’ve learned about this particular car, as my searching turned up very little relevant info. Hope this can be of help to any other S60 owners who are thinking of doing the same.

·
Premium Member
1,168 Posts
Looking forward to this. +sub

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
A bit more about the car and equipment.

It has the "high-performance" stereo system (read: base) not the Harmon Kardon premium system. The base system has tweeter/midrange upfront, with coaxs (I think) in the rear, where the premium system has a 3-way set-up in front with a 6.5 and 2.5 in the door and a 1 inch tweeter in the sail panel. The door panel is the same regardless of the system, so I've got the room if I eventually decide to go with a 3-way upfront (and I think I will).