DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build - in my past I have taken my cars to shops and paid good money most of the time not happy with the outcome. Shortcuts, messy wiring, bad designs, no creativity. I must have never had the money to get it done right.

The Car: 2006 Chrysler 300C SRT8 (425HP)

Mods:

20" Powdercoated Magnum Forged SRT wheels, Pedders full Race Track 2 suspension, Diablo Tuner, High Flow Cats, AFE2 Intake, painted roof, Grip Tuning Grille, painted headlight bezels... MORE

Audio Equipment:

Stock Navigation deck with PAC audio LOC
Dynaudio 360 (8", 3", 1.1" tweeter and passives) installed in doors, and kick panels
Image Dynamics ID10 subs infinite baffle rear deck
Zapco DRC digital amp controller
Zapco DC650.6 Digital amp with crossover, 10 band eq and way more than I can tune.

Most recently just tonight I finally got both speakers in the doors with nice results. No vibration, no rattles, SOLID as a rock! I had installed the whole system and decided to change the Dynaudio MW160 6.75" to the MW170 8" model for more midbass.

First I wanted an angle for the speaker, I wanted the speaker out a lil from the door (to fit the large magnet). This angled baffle I made is basically 2 pieces of 3/4" MDF with some 1.25" wood legs on the bottom to make an angle. I filled the open areas with foam and I added 2 layers of fiberglass to the inside and outside of the foam creating a super strong fiber glass angled baffle to mount the speaker.

I mounted the MDF baffle to the door with some hot glue to hold it in place, some JB weld and finally I screwed the baffle in place - secured it to the metal doors skin. After the baffle was secured I tried using NON HARDENING Modeling clay to reduce vibration and fill any voids caused by the shape of the hole and the door. I like that feel after adding it, I think it makes a nice difference.