DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at adding 2 midbass drivers in the door was needing some suggestions I dont know a whole lot about adding midbass drivers this is my first attempt so any help is much appreciated.

Thanks for any help, Mauricio

·
Premium Member
1,644 Posts
You cannot get helpful suggestions without providing the following: (1) what vehicle; (2) how deep are the doors; (3) what else comprises your system (speakers, amplifiers, etc.); (4) what amplifier do you plan to use for the midbass; (5) do you plan to use a subwoofer as well; and (6) your budget.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Dynaudio MW170

Ultra LV8 or even the LV6

·
Registered
336 Posts
Peerless SLS Series 8" Coated Paper Cone Woofer 8 ohm - 830667

If you've already got a component set with large format midranges (like in a regular 5.25" or 6.5" component set) and just want to add some very good, low cost midbass drivers to ease the load on your components and really strengthen up your midbass, these might just be the ones for you. You'll have to have plenty of power though, and be able to make room for 4" of mounting depth.

A lot of bang for the buck here if you're doing something along these lines -- right now they're on sale for under $100/pr. Do a search for 830667 if they sound like something you could use.

I just pulled the trigger today. I'm going to try them out in the doors to complement my 6.5" component set in the kickpanels, and 10" sealed subs in back. I'll be pushing 125watts to each of the Peerless 8's at 8ohms. I'd like to have a little more power for them, but I'll start there and see how they do.

Buzzman is right on though... we really need more info to steer you in the right direction. Good luck with your project.