DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright so this is my first time actually putting an amp to all speakers in my car and I have run into various problems that I am sure google could answer after browsing through a couple hundred forum posts. Some background most of this equipment came out of my old car with the exception of a new amp to power the 6.5's in the car, sub, and amp for the sub. (the amp that used to connect to the wires disappeared about the same time the sub left my trunk one night)

Having ground loop issues(alternator whine and a slight clicking that sounds like my injectors). Previous car had none. Have tried running the RCA's in different places and no luck it can just get quieter or louder. The cables when I bought them were nothing special but worked with no noise so I didn't complain. Would upgrading the RCA's to a set with better shielding solve this? If so any recommendations? Cost is not an issue if it solves the problem.

For my new sub I decided I would go with a ported box instead of sealed. Does the port volume count as box volume or should I subtract that?

When running things though WinISD a round port seems to do the same as a slotted but takes up much less room. Any reason to go with slotted over round?

Grounding the second amp. Should I use a block or just run a wire to the same spot as the first is grounded?

For the second amp turn on lead can I just branch it off the first amp or do I need to run a separate line from the head unit?

The amps are placed one under each seat in my 05 civic si. The power and rca's are run on opposite sides of the car. Hopefully this is all the issues I come across with the rest of this cars audio. Thanks in advance for any help.

·
Napoleon of DIYMA
846 Posts
1. Is your deck a Pioneer?
2. Substract
3. not really, you chose what is the easiest for you.
4. I would fix #1 first
5. you can cascade from the other amp

·
Registered