DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a Hyundai Genesis Coupe, 2.0T base with no audio upgrade.
Premium model comes with 600-watts Infinity system, but mine comes with the stock 170-watts OEM system.
I like the sound but once my volume goes past 10, I start it to hate it more and more as the volume goes up.
I don't know anything about car audio, but I'm a musician myself, which means I'd like to enjoy somewhat decently loud yet clear music while I commute.

So, I have already browsed all over to give myself a few options.

1) HU + AMP + Speakers :
Obviously, this would be the best option since I'm going to swap the entire thing out and replace it with a better system. But $$$ too much.
2) HU + Speakers:
Skip the amp part, cross my fingers that my new HU would be decent enough to pump out great sound.
3) AMP + Speakers:
This is actually what I'm leaning towards 'cause I really really want to keep my old HU. Not that it's fancy or anything, but in my car, there is this little blue LCD screen in the dash that shows what's being played, etc. If I replace my HU, I am pretty much guaranteed to have a dead LCD unit that displays practically nothing. I WANT THAT LCD TO WORK. I just want to improve my sound. Hence the idea of installing an amp and replacing speakers to properly match what my newly acquired amp will put out.

Given these options and my inclination towards option #3, can someone suggest upgrade options for me? Or if option #3 compared to other options is a stupid idea, can someone briefly explain why and smack me in the head to knock some sense in?

I don't think I'll ever want a sub, so possibly an amp + speaker combo that can put out decent bass that's not going to shake the earth would be good.

Oh and if you can suggest something under $300 or $300-$600 that'd be great as well.