DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was at a local car audio shop recently and starting talking to one of the sales people. Since I'm still new to car audio, I asked him about active vs passive crossovers. He said that, to him, active crossovers aren't worth the money because manufacturers have already tuned their passive crossovers to the optimal frequencies. What do people here think about that? I'm not trying to beat a dead horse as I know there are a lot of threads on here about active vs passive, I just haven't heard this argument before and was wondering how to counter it.

·
Registered
7,610 Posts
That's a broad stroke he's painting with. In some instances, yeah the passive has been maximized, but often places limitations on where the separates can be placed from each other to keep that integrity.

The key to active is not what is often preached (take that passive set and go active) though it can have it's merits over a poorly designed passive crossover that comes with the set. The real key in active is not being constrained to shelf component sets. You can mix & match drivers to suit your tastes & install which opens up doors to various drivers not found in any car audio shop and often of better quality for the same dollar.

That's the gist, plain & simple. ;)

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Well they are two completely different animals. Active is before the amps and passive is after. Running a system active has its benefits, as does passive.

Active: you can optimize the frequencies to your liking. Everyone likes their sound a little different, and usually there's enough overlap between the mids and tweeters that you can play around in the overlap to make it sound best for you.