DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a set of Alpine SPX-17PRO (100 rms 4-ohm) powered by a JL Slash 450/4 and an Alpine CDA-7998R. I was told this deck does not clip at max volume (35). I don't have an o-scope right now to confirm that, but I am going to trust that statement. I set the gain with the deck on max volume to 20 volts. I have 4 conductor wire running to each door and have the Alpine crossovers in the rear. I have the crossovers configured with the 4 and 3 module and -3db and 0db tweeter jumpers (Type C). I am not running a sub or rear speakers right now. These speakers sound horrible and keep distorting around 28. They are not loud at all either. My stock speakers sounded so much better then they do. I cannot figure out what the problem is. This is my first time amplifying components and it's just been a disaster. I hope I am just overlooking something stupid. If you need any more information, just ask.

i42.tinypic.com/wlx0z5.png
i40.tinypic.com/34o9cv5.png

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Maybe you're better off setting up your amp at 27 volume instead of 35 'til you confirm that the deck doesn't distort at max volume and see how that goes.

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
Do you have a high pass crossover applied?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I had the HP on the amp. What should I set the slope, Freq. Range and Filter Freq. to? I am pretty lost at this point. If I don't get it soon, I am going to take it to the professionals. Also, what is considers a high input and a low input for the preouts?

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Were you using this alpine head unit for your stock speakers aswell?

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
Try starting over.

-Set the crossover on the speakers to 80hz/24db (the Pro's are great speakers, but deep bass isn't a strong point).

-Turn the gain all the way down. DON'T set it using the voltage method.

-Turn the HU volume to 27/35