DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
You usually get a little further by asking more specific questions.

Source: I do technical training for a living and this is just way too broad of a question without some background on who you are and what experience you have. Also maybe explain why you dropped $2000+ on something without a plan to hook it up?

Anyway, In general, you should:
  • Set a lowpass filter to about 300 Hz [See EDIT below] - those channels then go straight to your midbass speakers. If you have a sub, also set a highpass to about 80 Hz. If not, set a highpass to about 40 Hz.
  • Then set a highpass filter on the other two channels to about 300 Hz - those outputs go to the input of your crossover. Hook up your mids and tweeters to the crossover outputs (the midbass output will be empty). Then mount your mids and tweeters close to each other. [EDIT: You do not need a highpass on these channels. The passive crossover will be OK and should be around 300 Hz, but I am not sure. You should test this or find documentation from Focal if you can, then match your lowpass on the midbass channels to this]
  • Finally time align and EQ it as best you can.

·
Registered
7,485 Posts
We are here to help, but you're asking a lot of questions that can be answered by reading the owners manuals.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just a basic wiring question. I'm running a Kenwood excelon dnx996xr deck with focal 3 ways es165kx3 in front a pillars 6.5 in doors. 2 way components es130kx2 in rear. 10" jl audio stealth box w3v3 for sub. 2 mosconi d2 gladen 100.4 amps with a helix dsp pro mk2. All active no crossovers. Just wondering the best way to wire it because I am getting static and a little road noise that drives me crazy

·
Registered
194 Posts
Your equipment changed a lot in the last 5 hours. Now you have a DSP and 2 Mosconi amps instead of a Focal amp?