DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Honda Odyssey
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that not all DSP are created equally. Some have features that others don't, etc.

It looks like I'm headed down the path of using a differential rear fill for the system I'm putting together. But I have zero experience with DSP's and their feature sets. I understand the basics of creating an active system and have no problem wiring it all up, but need a controller that can handle what I want to achieve.

There's the Dayton Audio DSP408 and the PRV DSP2.8X that seem well priced. Do they have the necessary features to pull this off? I'm assuming that there's no DD head units with DSP and enough RCA outs for what I'm trying to do. Or if there is it would likely be out of my price range.

I'm a newb to this, so if any of y'all have a recommendation I'm all ears.

·
Registered
19,644 Posts
Plenty can. Any of the good processors on the market can. My recommendation for the past 6 years has been Helix, and for a reason.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
Plenty can. Any of the good processors on the market can. My recommendation for the past 6 years has been Helix, and for a reason.
He's a dealer guys. He wants to sell you the helix.
In case you didn't know the specific reason he didn't state.
Just a vage....
A jl audio twk is perfect for beginners.
It has 3 modes of set up. From beginners to pros.
I'm not trying to sell you one. But you should probably try one.

·
Premium Member
736 Posts
three come to mind:
  • arc audio ps8pro
  • helixes
  • minidsp 2x4 w/ rear/center plugin

i haven't used the ps8pro's rear fill functions

i wish the helix pro mk2 had more delay, 20ms wasn't enough for me. other helix platforms may have more but i haven't looked.

2x4's 27ms was enough. the rear/center plugin only has mono eq, but i was able to use its independent levels and time-alignment to make it work