Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys.
Here's what I have:
Alpine 9886CDA Head Unit
Rockford Fosgate P1652-S components.
Rockford Fosgate P3 shallow 12" sub
Rockford Fosgate T600-4 amp. (Rear channels powering sub, front channels powering components)

So a few months ago, I paid supposedly the #2 installer in the nation, Meece Car Audio, to install my amp and sub, wire everything and run the front channel wires to my Jl Audio speakers. A little while later my right side speaker blew. So I was using the stock dash speakers running off the head unit.
Today I installed my RF components, and was very happy until I started playing around with the settings and realized that when I turned the subwoofer setting "off" on the head unit, the right side speaker stops playing. Also, if I turn the Subwoofer setting up or down between 0 and 15 the right side speaker volume increases and decreases.
So much for "great installers"... This is probably why my speaker blew in the first place. I don't want that to happen to my new components.
Is there anything I can do? My installer said he won't touch anything unless I'm paying him. How can I fix it myself?

·
Registered
5,830 Posts
Sound like you just need to check the RCAs from the HU to the amps and speaker wiring from the amp to the speakers to make sure they are going to the proper speaker/channel

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay thanks! So I just need to follow the rca and speaker cables and make sure they are going to the right places? (I'm sure they aren't)
Also, I have this loud whine coming from the speakers. I tried turning the gains down but I can still hear it. My installer swears it's not the ground, but I don't know what to believe. It gets louder with more rpms from the motor.

·
Premium Member
283 Posts