DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a PS8-50 installed in my impala. Running 6 channel mode currently. I have a pair of CDT unity 8's 2" widebands mounted to my pillars, pair of focal integration tweeters in the pillars and a pair of 6.5's in the doors. Head unit is a Pioneer 4660 with 3 sets of low level outputs.

I tried turning off the tweeters this afternoon and running the unity 8's up to 20k. I like it better than running the tweets! This leaves me 2 free channels to run to the rear for fill.

I did some searching and it seems most people are running l-r / r-l and percentage mixing with the helix for rear fill. I'm still pretty new to the whole dsp thing and really haven't looked at using my PS8-50 to process the rear fill.

Has anybody successfully done the rear fill thing with an ARC audio processor? Any tips or setup info? I was thinking about installing another set of unity 8's for rear fill but it seems like wasted money for the intended purpose. I've also had my eyes on the Fountek FR59EXE 2" which I would think would do just as good of a job for fill but, that's why I'm asking here.

Thanks for any input and information.

·
Premium Member
3,882 Posts
Sorry but unfortunately, I'm not aware of any way to make a l-r and a r-l outputs on Arc processors.
You can do it on Helix but a you do on Arc is sum to mono l+r.

If you have enough channels you can run one set of outputs into the input and stack delays to get more delay for rear fill.
I did it for awhile w ps850.
Outputs 3/4 to inputs 3/4. To outputs 5/6.

·
Registered
1,153 Posts
I have a Helix DSP.3 that is capable of true, differential rear-fill. After trying differential rear-fill and regular "rear speakers", I actually preferred regular "rear speakers". :)