DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i want to say thanks first for anyone whom is willing to try to help me. i am new to the whole active front stage and want to try it out. i know my current equipment isnt that great but it is what i have to work with. this stuff is in/will be going in a 04 chevy avalanche. right now i have a panasonic 7200u in dash dvd player, cadence components up front and 2 orion 10" p series subs. as for amps i have a jbl 180.2 and 1200.1 running them. i recently acquired a set of RE xxx 6.5's in a trade. i have always heard about how good active is and was wanting to ditch the cadences and put together an active set-up using the xxx's. i have a jbl80.2 (40x2) to power the tweeters(i still have yet to decide on which ones to get). but my main question is what would be a good inexpensive active crossover to use with this stuff? or am i just wasting my time? thanks again.

·
Registered
531 Posts
check ebay for:

audiocontrol 2xs, 3xs, 4xs, 24xs....

coustic xm-1, xm-3, xm-5, xm-7....

you may want to expand in the future and some of those will let you do that...but some are just standard 2 ways....

not wasting your time at all....active is an awesome way to go....

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
easiest way

just get a new deeck that has 3 way crossovers

kenwood excleon or xxv-01d
alpine 9835 (no 05 series)
clarion dxz955mc
pioneer p860mp

etc etc

just makes it a ton easier

tweets on set of rcas
mids on another set of rcas
subs on last set of rcas

·
Registered
265 Posts
Unfortunately I think mihklo doesn't want to give up his indash DVD player :)

An external active crossover is probably the cheaper alternative.

David

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
xDeLiRiOuSx said:
Unfortunately I think mihklo doesn't want to give up his indash DVD player :)

An external active crossover is probably the cheaper alternative.

David