DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Posted this on caraudio.com as well...

Built my first system back in May, months before I got my license. Couldnt even drive the car but I had a system! LOL

Anyway, I ended up with whats in my sig. I've been driving for almost 4 months now and want more. I've done all sorts of tuning and playing with settings over the months...

Heres the "problem" I used to have and what I wanted. I had a very crappy sony head unit and my speakers werent loud enough (without distortion) and the subs distorted at very high volumes. Also had to use a LOC because my head unit only had sub outputs, no front/rear for my 4 channel amp.

Heres how I fixed it. New JVC AHD-69 head unit w/ 4v front/sub outputs. Removed LOC. Bridged 4 x 60W rms amp that was powering front and rears, and is now powering only my front polks with roughly 130W RMS x 2. MUCH louder and clearer than before, all it needed was a bit more power. Subs are much clearer now too, my amp liked the higher preamp voltage of the new headunit vs my sony.

OK thats great and all, but.. you guys know how it is, I still want more. Christmas is soon and I cant think about anything else than car audio. I ride motocross and dont even want to spend much on my bike if not much.

So heres what I want now.

- Sound deadening. With the volume cranked I can hear my music outside my car with the windows up from probably 30-50 ft away. Not my subs, music. Thats obnoxious, not to mention how much SQ I may be losing.. also the rear half of my car rattles BAD. Gonna put those CLD tiles everywhere and maybe that foam stuff too. Still deciding on what deadener(s) to buy.. liquid, CLD tiles, MLV, CCF, etc..