DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On some T line designs I see that people have the woofer firing into a chamber and then it goes into the line/port. On most T line designs, the woofer just fires directly into the line/port and that snakes around. I grasp and understand the math to figure out the line/port length. I have never seen anywhere how someone comes up with the chamber size that the woofer fires into before the line/port. How would you figure this out and why is is necessary? What do they do if a T line is really nothing but a long port?
If it is done just to fit a larger driver, how do you figure out the size and how does it affect performance?

·
Registered
2,749 Posts
With a chamber before the port it would become more of a "horn" design, I'm just getting into these myself. You'd need some software like hornresp to model (lot harder to get my head round than BBpro). diyaudio.com has more users doing these types of design and has some tuitorials for hornresp.

·
Premium Member
6,034 Posts
On some T line designs I see that people have the woofer firing into a chamber and then it goes into the line/port. On most T line designs, the woofer just fires directly into the line/port and that snakes around. I grasp and understand the math to figure out the line/port length. I have never seen anywhere how someone comes up with the chamber size that the woofer fires into before the line/port. How would you figure this out and why is is necessary? What do they do if a T line is really nothing but a long port?
If it is done just to fit a larger driver, how do you figure out the size and how does it affect performance?
In a conventional ported box the air in the box interacts with the woofer, and the port is tuned to the Helmholtz resonance.

This worked dandy until 1990 or so. In the past 21 years the box size required by woofers has grown smaller and smaller and smaller and smaller.